Holiday Pics

Today is a much-needed holiday (at least for me!) in Japan. I’m still really jet-lagged, even though I’ve been back almost a week. I wake up wide awake early in the morning and fall asleep instantaneously at night. But at least we had a long weekend so I can finish unpacking and just mellow out. I was looking at the photos from my holiday and cleaning, but I’m not getting much done.  So I’ll loaf on the computer and show you some photos instead!

We stopped over in Honolulu for a few days on our way from the East Coast. It was 50-ish in Tokyo, which is not unpleasant, and of course it was deliciously warm in Hawaii- 80s and pretty sunny:

We checked into a cheap but serviceable hotel (Queen Kapiolani), and spent all of our time shopping, on the beach, or just enjoying the sunshine. We also went to the Aloha Stadium flea market/swap meet, afternoon tea at the Moana Surfrider Hotel in Waikiki, and of course, Coldstone Creamery every day for ice cream.  I went to university here, and some things had changed and others looked exactly the same. I definitely miss the eternal summer, but living on a small island can be very confining.

So, then we got off the plane to this:

Cold, freezing and perpetual gray skies…but that’s where my family is! Below freezing almost every day- yeech! I forgot how cold it can get. When I got back to Tokyo, I had to laugh a little when I saw people wearing earmuffs and those hideous Canadian ear-flap hats to fight the extreme, harsh 45 degree weather we’re currently having.

I found a stow-away in my bag:

Someone (Dad?)  always puts this mini Santa doll into my suitcase before I leave.  Usually I find it and hide it in a drawer, or under the sink or something. Sometimes Santa finds his way back into my bag, sometimes he doesn’t. It looks like he snuck back in again.  I’m glad he didn’t pass out from all the nail polish fumes in the suitcase. Or..maybe he did huff some fumes- he looks pretty happy.

I hope everyone had a nice holiday break and that the New Year is off to a good start for you!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday Pics

  1. Arie says:

    Beautiful pics!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thank you! 🙂 I hope you had a nice holiday and a happy New Year!

  3. Lucy says:

    Those pictures of Hawaii are beautiful. What a change of weather! That’s lovely also. Very sweet what your Father does with the Santa. Glad you had such a good holiday.

Leave a Reply

