Tokyo Nail Expo Nail Art Compeition.. Day 2

And more nails from the Tokyo Nail Expo 2009! I have some frankens I want to show you soon, but these crazy nails are just too amazing not to show you today.

Yes, the Cinderella is attached to the nail. This one features a glass slipper, acrylic flowers, a moon, a clock, and the Prince’s castle.  Personally, I would have made one hand Cinderella the abused house-maid and the other hand Glamour Cinderella. Wouldn’t a tiny scrub brush and bucket look cute on a nail?

Are these amazing or what? All handpainted. I think it’s supposed to be a stained glass window. I’d never wear these, but they are true works of art.

These nails are carved out in a filigree design with giant roses, Cupid’s arrow and a swing.  Very unusual design. Don’t the little people on the swing get seasick from flopping around all the time?

And….what the heck is this? How does it fit in with the love and soul theme? Leopard print nails, hearts, sleazy red lips, and a cigarette that apparently gives off second-hand glitter hearts. Beware of the glitter lung! Very strange indeed.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tokyo Nail Expo Nail Art Compeition.. Day 2

  1. Annabelle says:

    How the heck did they CARVE the nails??

  2. lazycakes says:

    that is craziness!! amazing to look at. your sense of humor is too funny…second hand hearts!!!

  3. Angel says:

    Wow…LOVE the stained glass one, though I’d never wear it 😉
    I had a question, when mixing nail polish, how much do you mix for 10 nails?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi there! I mix a puddle about the size of a US or Canadian quarter in a silicone muffin tin. The muffin tin is about the size of a mini Reeses peanut butter cup wrapper and in fact that’s what it looks like.

  4. Lucy says:

    The stained glass nails are beautiful just as an art piece. I hope all of these are just art pieces. Just for looking at and not for wearing.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Me too! They do have to model them in the competition, but I missed it. The Japanese will definitely wear wackier stuff than other people, but these might be too much even for them.

  5. Amazing indeed,.. It always is when these girls get on with it.
    Don’t care about the “is it wearable?” this is art

Leave a Reply

