Tokyo Nail Expo 2009

One of the biggest nail art events in Asia is the Tokyo Nail Expo. This year, it was held on Nov. 30 and Dec. 1 at the Tokyo Big Site, which is a huge convention center on an artificial island in Odaiba Island. This was incidentally the scene of my recent Design Festa debacle.  But I’m pleased to say my time at Tokyo Big Site was much more pleasant than the last!

All the big Western polish companies were there, as well as a few Asian ones. It was a madhouse. Seriously mayhem.  Some of the deals /highlightsthat sent people into frenzies were :

OPI for $11 per bottle. It usually retails for $22 in Japan. I bet they’d croak if they knew if sold online for $5. No special Japan-only colors this season, which surprised me.

Zoya had a booth where they were selling polish for around $7 a bottle, same as the website. I scored a couple.

Nail decals: 8 sheets for around $11, they usually retail for around $4 each. It was a total feeding frenzy. I got 16 sheets which I’ll probably never use, but I couldn’t resist a good deal.

Nail art deco sweets: little cookies, cakes, candies, etc. I got a bag of about 20 for $10.  The epitome of tacky Japan nails. Now all I need is some caulk whipped cream.

TiNS: The Japan glitterbombs that are almost impossible to get outside of Japan. They are usually $15, but on sale for $8 and discontinued colors were 5 for $10!!! Woo hooo! I got some for a giveaway! Update: I can’t get Google Friend Finder on a WordPress blog. Boo! I wanted to allow people to follow the blog and do contests via the follower list, but stinky old WordPress says it’s a security issue. There are other ways to do contests, but still. I feel cheated.

Glitter: I bought tons of $3 pots of microglitter in the hopes that it will work as well as MAC, which is $20 per pot. We’ll see…I haven’t had the time or the nerve to see if it turns silver when it hits the nail polish. I sure hope not!!

Here’s some photos of the event- the haul photos and some more contest photos will be following through the week:

The entrance…before the frenzy!

TiNS!!!

Everyone’s favorite frankener/glitter troll getting interviewed on Japanese TV. I sounded really dumb, I’m sure, but it’s hard to be on TV in another language! It was just a couple minutes but it seemed much longer!

And the highlight was the Nail Art contest, with contestants from all over Asia, but mostly Japan. I’ll be showing the entries over a few days, because there are so many amazing ones. The theme was “Heart and Soul.” Even if you hate giant long nails, you’ve got to admit these are true works of art.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail polish, Store-bought Colors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tokyo Nail Expo 2009

  1. Rebecca says:

    That looks like so much fun!!

  2. Kae says:

    That looked so neat! How fun to be on TV, did they ask you anything crazy? Those contest nails are so intricate and amazing. All those tins!! aaaaah 🙂

  3. Justina says:

    OMG!!! TINs!!!!!
    Gee.. wish I was there. 🙂
    P.S. Hi… I’m from the tiny red dot on the map, S’pore and have been a silent follower of your blog until I saw the TINs. I’m a big fan of TINs. Cheers!

  4. Violet says:

    That place looks like heaven!

  5. Tabula Rasa says:

    Those are some crazy good deals you got! I hope you had a blast and didn’t get too trampled 🙂

  6. Anna says:

    OMG! I need to go to Tokyo! TiNS and all the other polishes and the nails and the awesomeness and and and! AAHH! Wish we had something like that here!

  7. Jin says:

    Oh I wished I was there! Do you have to be in the nail/beauty industry to attend the Tokyo nail expo?

  8. Do you have any idea what I would have done in front of that TiNS booth? It’s probably best I don’t say incase any kids read this.

    Really though, those sale prices on TiNS???????? I would have taken out old people and kids to snatch up bottles at the price!

    I love those lace nails, with the heart shape snuck in there.

    You must post a youtube of your tv interview!!

  9. Annabelle says:

    Wow. Looks like it was so much fun. =]Please tell me you got the green TINs… It looks like peas!! XDD

    If you want to somehow get followers, Feedburner does an email subscription. You can put the link in the side-bar.

    Are you goning to put a video?? With subtitles??=]

  10. Rachie30 says:

    !!! that place looks like so much fun! can’t wait to see the swatches and what you come up with!

  11. Serikiyo says:

    Is there anyway to find a clip of your interview? That would be so much fun to watch! 😀

  12. Lucy says:

    There would have been a frenzy between me and Brooke on those Tins! The nails are beautiful and fascinating. You got interviewd on TV for the nails!! Wonderful.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      You and Brooke would have KILLED those little timid Japanese women! That’s a sight I’d almost pay to see! 😉

  13. rasilla says:

    the tins look sooooo pretty on the display~
    *sigh* XD

Leave a Reply

