I Went To Hong Kong and All I Bought Was A Crate of Nail Polish

Hello all! I spent a fantastic weekend in Hong Kong and stayed at the lovely Peninsula Hotel. I’m a sucker for classical Asian colonial architecture and this place didn’t disappoint! I’m not really used to people turning down the covers and offering to unpack for me, but it was wonderful.  Everything was just perfect. I ate tons of great food (the Indian restaurant Tandoor is one of the best restaurants ever) and everywhere I turned, there was another tempting snack.  I’ve been to HK several times before and I always really enjoy it- it’s one of my favorite cities in Asia.  It’s much more multi-cultural than Japan and more exciting and boisterous.

I did get a hearty stash of nail polish, but I’m a little afraid to use it on my natural nails. I put some on my guy’s toenails to see what would happen. So far, nothing’s turned green or fallen off.  The ladies  in Hong Kong believe in color and sparkle- greens, purples and neons and spectacular glitter bombs. One brand looked more professional than the others and I think I’ve seen it in Korea, but I’m a little afraid of some of the ultra-cheap glitter bombs  I got. I’ll put it on fake nails or maybe use them to give a mani to one of those mean ladies who laughed at me when I had food poisoning. (Just kidding). 

I’ll be posting some photos of the haul shortly and swatch them in the next few days. Glittahbombs away!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Went To Hong Kong and All I Bought Was A Crate of Nail Polish

  1. Arie says:

    Hi Jen, good to see you back and well rested.
    I want to thank you so much for my nails, they are even more pretty than they look in the pics.
    I want to ask for your permission to make a post about them in my blog.
    I love the extras, and my fave is the Christmas one, Thank you so much again!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Arie,
      Thanks for the good wishes! Of course you can make a blog post from the nails I made for you- I’m so glad you liked them!
      🙂

  2. Crystal says:

    Glad to hear that you had a great vacation after all that’s happened lately! Can’t wait to see the pictures!! Tried my first franken this past weekend, I made a complete mess but it was well worth it 😀

  3. Annabelle says:

    I can’t wait to see the glitters you got in HK. ( I just realised that HK could also stand for Hello Kitty…) I hope it was a great trip!!=]

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It was a great trip- aahhh. I needed a little pick-me-up after all that’s happened lately. I’ll post some photos!

  4. Gasp – I can’t wait to see what you got!! NEED PICTURES STAT!!

    And I would soooooo paint those girls with bad nail polish!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I’m going to make a franken with rat poison, Funky Chunky, and plutonium and give them manis. Or maybe just Funky Chunky alone would be enough. Mwa ha ha…

  5. Lucy says:

    Must have been so nice to spend a weekend in a beautiful hotel like that. I agree with Brooke, paint those means girl nails with that polish. Sounded like a wonderful time. Glad you enjoyed yourself.

Leave a Reply

