Migrating…

Nope, I’m not a Canadian goose, but I am thinking of migrating from WordPress, my current blog hoster, to Blogger.

WordPress doesn’t allow Javascript or Flash code to be attached to the blog, so no Google Friend Follower or other fun social tools (except for Twitter, which I don’t use because I’d bore my followers to death.) Plus Blogger has better blog templates and seems easier to use.

Anyone have any comments about a blog service they use and like? Or dislike? I’d like to hear what everyone thinks of his or her current blog hoster and go from there. I could also buy my own domain name, but dang, nails have cost me enough already. I’m not sure I want to add to that sum!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Migrating…

  1. Colette says:

    Well, I use blogger & have been happy with it. I mainly picked it because that’s where the first blogs I read were, but so far I haven’t found anything I really wanted to do that blogger couldn’t accomodate – not saying it’s perfect, but it’s met all of my needs & is IMO very user-friendly.

  2. Deniz says:

    I use google, and I’m very happy with it.

  3. Nixxy says:

    I agree with Collette – no big issues with Blogger.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Nixxy- and yu have such awesome templates for it! I liked the one with the diamonds a while back, but they’re all cool…

  4. Annabelle says:

    I rather like Worpress. I had a blog on Blogger, but the layout was just weird. I like how wordpress is very clean=]

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      OK, a fellow WordPresser! The clean look is nice and I do like it but sometimes I just want to be a little over-the-top. But the clean look is a plus most of the time.

  5. Violet says:

    I’m with blogger at the moment and I’m about to move to my own domain. Things I like about blogger:
    -Easy to use
    -Fun friend tools (followers and the like)
    Things I hate about blogger:
    -Crap spam filters
    -Limited templates which are less customisable unless you can do CSS coding
    -if you upload photos through their tool they compress them into grainy lower quality ones for some reason
    -Can’t change the size of the text input box where you type your blog, can be annoying if you use a lot of pictures.

    That said I really like blogger and if it wasn’t for a few of those little things which just personally bug me I’d be staying with them ^_^ It’s all down to personal preference.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for the details, Violet. I’m still on the fence, and my own domain name would be a nice option but I have to make sure I can move all the content.

  6. Colette says:

    A quick PS after seeing some of the other comments – I think some of the Blogger issues mentioned are fixed with the Updated Editor (http://www.google.com/support/blogger/bin/answer.py?answer=156829) … but I can’t really give you a good review of that because I am stubborn & still using the Old Editor because that’s what I’m used to LOL.

  7. Jodie says:

    Love Blogger. It’s quite flexible.
    I’ve been very happy with it.

    x

  8. Angie says:

    I’m on blogger myself, and my favorite feature is scheduled posting. I finish my polish posts over the weekend, then set them to post during the weekdays. That way, I don’t ever have to worry over having no new content while I’m busy with uni.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Angie! WordPress also has the scheduled posting, which can be very handy. I just wish I could add code to the blog so people could interact more!

  9. Arie says:

    Hi Jen I just open my blog two days ago with blogger ! I was amazed how easy was ! , I am still learning and giving my baby steps ^_^, please stop by http://arie-catchthebeauty.blogspot.com/
    And today I found out that you can use picasa from google for your pictures it is a nice and very friendly tool.
    I hope that check is no taking to long , I can’t wait to post my custom nails on my blog!!

  10. pfefi says:

    Hi there! I use Blogger and in response to comments about being cluttered, I think with most of the default templates everything is built up out of widgets, and so you can always just delete all but the most important widgets (link to profile, followers, etc.)

    And then on the topic of having your own domain, well you can separate purchasing the domain and purchasing space for it, right? You can buy a domain name and then have it point to a free blog, either WordPress or Blogger. Best of both worlds, and will probably only cost, what, $5-$10 a year?

Leave a Reply

