Shakin’ My Tiny Fist At The Universe

OK, now I’m really beginning to wonder if something’s gone cosmically awry. It’s been quite a week, but I’m getting over my disappointment over the less-than-spectacular show results and moving on (thanks to everyone for your encouraging and lovely comments!). But there was to be more trouble a’brewin…

Today, I had lunch at an Italian place with my co-worker, and thought the food tasted….tingly. I had a chicken picatta sort of thing and something was off, but I was having a lot of fun chatting and didn’t really pay attention.

The background to this story is that I am rather thin, scrawny even. It’s just my natural shape. I’m also the only non-Japanese woman in the office.

So, 20 minutes after we got back to the office after lunch, I felt like I was going to die. I mean DIE.  The last time I felt like this, I was in Mumbai, India, and I had dysentery. It was like 5 seconds countdown to upchuck.

As luck wouldn’t have it, the rest room was full of ladies when I ran into the stall, and did some monstrous power vomiting.  If there was a gold medal for force of hurl, I would have won.  It was epic.  As if it wasn’t bad enough, the ladies outside starting laughing at me! Apparently they had thought all along that I had an eating disorder, and it was hilarious. I wanted to crawl out and throw up on them, but I got so dizzy I passed out and fell over inside the stall. First time ever.  Lucky for them, because I still had a lot of bodily fluid ammo left. I stayed in the toilet for 2.5 hours and finally shuffled home when I could.

What a bunch of nasty witches, laughing at my purported eating disorder. I guess it was hard for them to believe that an American could be thinner than they were! But who honestly laughs at someone who’s in such bad shape? It’s just really cruel. And I’d never had any trouble with these people before- I was stunned to hear them mock me.

On a happier note, tomorrow is my guy’s birthday, and Halloween to boot. I think I’ll be recovered by then because I’m feeling better by the hour, except for the headache from where I hit my head on the TP dispenser (?) and the floor after keeling over.

I might stay inside because I’m afraid a giant cartoon anvil is gonna fall on my head.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Shakin’ My Tiny Fist At The Universe

  1. D:) says:

    Don’t worry! Those women in your office are indeed bitches but they are motivated by jealousy. You’ll soon feel better, return to the office (knowing who your real friends are – always a plus IMO), and continue to eat what you want and be thin as hell. Eff em!

  2. Their behavior is appalling to say the least!! They should be ashamed of themselves. I feel for you girl, I can’t imagine what your daily struggle there must be like – but I’m sending you another virtual hug your way today, and from what it sounds like I might even be able to pick you up during the hug to, so be prepared, lol 🙂 Love ya girl – keep your head up.

    Tell your wonderful guy HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  3. Kirsten says:

    I’m so sorry. Women can be such unpleasant beings sometimes. Ugh.
    Even if you had an eating disorder, it’s just plain mean to make fun of someone who is feeling really bad.

    Have fun tomorrow and congrats with/to your guy!

  4. Deniz says:

    I don’t think these women can feel sympathetic. Even if someone has an eating disorder, it’s no laughing matter! And I feel so sorry for you… I bet there was something wrong with the chicken, because my mother was once poisoned by a grudged chicken, too. She also said she felt like dying. I hope you’re feeling much better now…
    This summer I had the same thing, it was terrible. I was curled up in bed, my insides wriggling, I was sleeping and waking up but it didn’t get better at all. And the worst part is, I’m emetophobiac. I only throw up every 5-6 years or so =) I stood up to wash my face, and I had to run for my life to the bathroom to do the power hurl! It was terrible! =)

  5. Deniz says:

    Btw, happy birthday to your guy!

  6. lazycakes says:

    oh no!!! I am so sorry those women did that to you, karma will get them eventually. I wish your show had been more financially successful but look at how much you did!!! Do not hang your head(even if you have to throw up!) the amount of work you did and all of the different designs you came up with are amazing and shows some good ol american hard work!!!! few peolple do what you do as well as you do, be confident in that!!

  7. Joy says:

    Aww.. Sorry about your bad experience! Hope tomorrow w/ your guy is a better experience.

  8. Annabelle says:

    Ack-nothing is going well for you. I shake my fist with you. Stupid math test.=]

  9. seraphina says:

    ah well, its Japan after all. I heard tons of stories where they are not exactly friendly to gaijins and such :C Just ignore them.

  10. I hope you are feeling better soon. I’m sorry people weren’t kind to you at such a delicate time.

    Wishing you a Happy Halloween and a pleasant birthday celebration with your beloved.

  11. Kristine says:

    wow, I can’t believe they acted like that!!!!

    Hope you feel much better now 🙂

  12. Danielle says:

    Horrendous! I can’t believe how some people react to other’s misfortune – it’s just plain mean! I hope you recover quickly and enjoy your boy’s Birthday weekend 🙂

  13. MoLo says:

    HO BAGS. Every one of them.

    Glad you’re feeling better, enjoy Halloween!

  14. Nixxy says:

    OMG, that’s insane! I hope someone does the same to them one day 🙂

  15. Violet says:

    Ick! *hugs* that is a terrible thing for them to do! For women to laugh rather than help someone who clearly needed help is just disgusting. I’m sure they’ll all get what’s coming to them though. I think everyone who reads this blog is collectively sharpening their well manicured nails into points to do some eye-scratching 😉
    I really hope this week starts looking up for you 🙂

  16. lizzratt says:

    Sorry you are having such a fml time lately.
    While I do think it’s crappy that they laughed, I think you are forgetting that there is a cultural thing here where the Japanese women tend to laugh out of embarrassment.
    Of course, I’m not there and you have a better perspective…just thought I’d give you another way to look at it so you could move beyond it to better things.
    You are an outsider, they don’t know how to behave around you…I bet they would have helped one another had the situation been turned on one of them. Sometimes, people aren’t mean on purpose…they’re just too unaware to do something different.
    Hugs and I’m hoping you’re feeling better.
    Note to self: don’t eat things that taste “tingly” ew.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’d like to think that too, but the “Ha ha! I knew she was bulemic!” sort of comments kind of led me to believe they they were indeed laughing at my plight. I agree you are completely right about the laughing from embarrassment- it’s a very disconcerting thing at first.

      Oh, and if there is one piece of advice you take from this blog, it would definitely be: Don’t eat things that taste tingly. I thought it was the glass of wine I was having with lunch, but I think it was some rotten bacteria instead! Avoid anything tingly. It’s just bad news!

  17. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks ladies for your comments and encouragement, as always. I’m totally recovered and I’m never, ever going to eat anything that tingles again! I do have to say that food poisoning is a (usually) brief but violently horrible experience. I hope everyone stays happy and healthy!

  18. Lucy says:

    What rotten mean women! To be so sick and then pass out. They just laughed instead of asking if you needed help is just rotten. I’m so sorry you had to go thru all this. You’ve really had it pretty bad lately. I’m sure things will turn around.

  19. Saki says:

    I know this post’s like 2 weeks old but I’m still commenting since I can really relate to you. But before taht I’ve got to say that your blog is wonderful (I saw it for the first time today haha)! I love your frankenpolishes and your custom colours! 🙂
    I DO know how you feel, you must’ve felt horrible when they laughed at you! But please don’t hate them – I wasn’t there so I can’t say for sure but not all laughter that comes from Japanese people are ‘mock’. I’m saying this ’cause I live here too and I have lived here long enough to observe them fully (I’m an outsider too)…they laugh all the time lol. They might’ve been taken aback since they heard you throw up suddenly…in that case they laughed because they were surprised and a bit confused, not necessarily at you. They wouldn’t laugh if they thought you had an eating disorder.
    But seriously, even if they DID mock-laugh at you, cheer up! Few Japanese people are like that. I think you just happened to be close to the really mean ones lol. And they would’ve done the same if the person vomiting had been a fat Japanese, this I’m sure of. Sorry about my rant, but hopefully this made you feel more or less better… 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, thanks for your nice comment. And thanks for stopping by!
      I’ve been in Japan going on 7 years now, and these were some nasty gals I’ve met. They unfortunately were laughing at me because they thought I had bulimia, due to my natural scrawniness. I don’t know if you can read Japanese, but one said, やぱり!過食症だ。translated: “Haha, I knew it all along! Bulimia!” Nope, sorry ladies, just natural scrawniness. I didn’t really take it personally as they’re just nasty and insecure. I got hired as the assistant to our company president, and some of the ladies thought they should have gotten that position rather than me. (Don’t ask my why as my job requires fluent English, so they were never in the running for it. But they’re still holding it against me 2 years later.)
      All that aside, I’ve met some amazing people here and seen some incredible kindness.

  20. Saki says:

    Hm okay I read the comments above, maybe they DID mock you (I wasn’t there so I don’t know). In that case I hope they suffer the same 😛 You’ll find bitches everywhere you go… :/

Leave a Reply

