Totally Bummed

I’m trying to get myself out of the dark mood I’ve been in over the last few days. I was trying not to admit to myself what a total bust my show was! I put hundreds of dollars and hours into this and now I’m stuck with tons of stock as well as brochures and promo material. Maybe worst of all, my natural nails and cuticles are totally trashed from all the filing and polish remover I’ve been handling.

I’m sure as @#$! not doing any more exhibitions for awhile. My guy suggested running over all the leftover stock with our motorcycles and enjoying the crunchy sound. That would be satisfying, but with the way things are going, we’d probably skid on some rhinestones, crash the bikes, and break major bones, then find out there’s an exclusion on our insurance that denies claims that have anything to do with shiny objects.

I know I’ll feel better in time, and some stuff has been selling online, but nowhere near where I had hoped to be, plus posting it online costs time and money as well. Since I basically wasted my entire autumn preparing for this black hole of suck, the last thing I want to do is spend MORE time on it. But I do want to offer a giant thanks to everyone who stopped by my booth and my online store- thank you so much!  It really means a lot, especially now.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Totally Bummed

  1. Jodie says:

    I am so sorry that your show was not as good as you had hoped. I wish I could say something to make you feel better. If it’s any consolation, I appreciate all the hard work you do and all the postings you put on your blog. You give me inspiration and I am so grateful to you.
    Please don’t let this discourage you. You are fabulous.

    x

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you so much! I’m feeling pretty un-fabulous right now, but I’m getting back on my feet. I really appreciate your mail and I’m glad I could inspire even one person! 🙂

  2. Oh honey!!!! I’m so sorry to hear the show wasn’t what we all hoped it would be!! I can’t even imagine how you must feel putting all that time and energy into this for it to be such a bust!! That just breaks my heart to hear this, i wish I could give you a great big hug! Maybe there is another avenue available to sell your goods through. Maybe a little shop that specializes in stuff like this would let you sell your items through their store until you got rid of some of your stuff. Girl I just feel for you, but there has got to be a way to make some good out of this, we just need to figure it out 🙂 I’m putting my thinking cap on . . . .

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aww, thanks Brooke. I’ll take a virtual hug! 🙂
      I’ve put some things on Etsy and got a pretty good response, so that’s really nice. I’m also thinking about how to sell locally- there are some sort of stores where you can rent a little box and display your goods for sale there. Either that, or everyone in my family is gonna get nails for the rest of their lives, including my manly dad. He could use some jeweled nails.

  3. Michelle says:

    Hi, I hope you feel better soon. I can really sympathize. I had the same thing happen to me, except I do bead work. I spent so many hours and so much money getting ready for a craft show, only to make a couple hundred dollars. It makes me want to quit altogether when it seems what you do is not appreciated. You made some really great things for your sale! My advice would be to do another show, but don’t make anything new, use things you already have. That’s what I did next time, so it wouldn’t be such a let down if it didn’t go well. I wish you all the best, I’m a long time reader. I love reading your posts, I’m probably like a lot of people out there who read but don’t comment much so you don’t know we’re here, but we are! I just had to post today, since I’ve had such a similar experience.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks, Michelle! I think crafts are really a labor of love. I didn’t expect to get paid for my time, of course, but I thought I might make a modest profit. Nope. I’m acutually in the hole, but I hope Etsy sales can dig me out over time.

      I may do another show, especially one related to nails. Maybe a smaller local one so there’s not so much financial risk. I don’t think I’ll do the Design Festa again because it’s a huge venue at huge cost. Maybe a little more local would be better. Thanks for sharing the “been there, done that” experience!

  4. Deniz says:

    I can totally understand what it must feel like. I’ve been in similar situations, too, just not nail related stuff. I can see how much time this must have consumed, but now you have a really great stock! Just forget about them a while, put yourself together again, and then sell them over eBay/etsy/or anywhere else. I mean you live in Japan! I wouldn’t say the same if you lived over here, where the only thing people think that’s approachable is french manicure. =)
    I send you a great big hug, and I hope this darkness lifts off your shoulders soon… ❤

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, thanks Deniz! I’m feeling better- I’m just not thinking about the money, and the Esty sales have been not bad. I have a lot of stock, and I’m hoping people will enjoy it! 🙂 Thanks for hte virtual hug! 🙂

  5. Arie says:

    Hi ,I want to start saying that I am sorry for your show! ,It loocked amazing girl !!all the prettiest things you have there,I wish we could have something like that around here!!
    I always been around looking for all the nice nail blogs , never subscribe for one , just bookmarking,but today I request for my first mail subscription to your blog 🙂 yeeeeee!!! , I live in Ohio USA ,and I am an amateur in the art of nails , and I was really touch with the idea of your store and animal donation, I have a best buddy named Duke.
    I would like to buy from your store , but unfortunatly I do not have a paypal account , please.! let me know if is there another way to do it.
    Thank you for taking the time to read me , hoping you feel better .

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Arie!
      Thanks for stopping by and suscribing to the blog! 🙂
      It is free to set up a Paypal account and it doesn’t cost any money to pay with it. But if it’s difficult, I can also take a money order, like you can buy from the bank, drugstore or post office. You can send the money order by the post office to me. Email me for details if you like. I usually don’t do it that way but I understand Paypal is difficult for some people.
      And thanks for supporting animals!

  6. Kae says:

    I’m so sorry about how things turned out 😦 I love all your designs and the detail you put into them. I am a firm believer that something good will always come out of something that went wrong or bad. I hope you will be feeling better soon!

  7. Lucy says:

    I feel so bad for you. I know from seeing your work how much time and effort it took from you. You do such beautiful and creative work also. Do you have any idea why they weren’t buying? Has the nail style changed? I hope another show comes up soon and you can sell everything from this show. I know all that work, time and money feels like it wasn’t worth it. It was worth it. You gained more experience, probably got even better with your nail art and there will be a lesson that you’ve learned somewhere in all of this. (((Big hugs))) to you.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for your encouragement, Lucy. I think it just wasn’t really a nail crowd, plus everyone was afraid to come over to the booth with the non-Japanese people. I was greeting customers in Japanese, which I speak just fine, but I think a lot of people were afraid to come over and take a look. Also: bad weather and it seems a lot of the attendees were men! I couldn’t get them to even try a Konad, which surprised me because a lot of them had extreme hairstyles and such, but were afraid of a little ol’ nail polish!

      I really appreciate your encouragement, now and always! 🙂

  8. Mizze says:

    Don’t be discouraged and don’t look at it as a failure. See what you can learn from it and try to sell the rest of the stuff online if possible.

  9. Annabelle says:

    Aw, it sucks that you didn’t get near the respone you wanted…]= I bet your Etsy brings in a ton more $$$.=] I hope you don’t quit on nails forever, the nail art world would be down one. =]

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Annabelle! I’m not giving up! Mwa ha ha! I will probably have stock to last forever, but I have waay too much nail polish to give up. I have so much NP that if I threw it away, I’d probably be arrested for dumping toxic chemicals. 😉

  10. Yeny says:

    ganbare~
    Don’t be too sad, there’s a first time for everything.
    you never know,
    Some people you met at the event might lead u to a good opportunity!
    Plus you have so many people following your blog! I think you are so talented, I love your ideas and designs
    I wish I’ve ordered the nails couple of days later because I didn’t get to see the ones left from your show.
    I’ll be looking forward to the nails in the mail 🙂

    xoxo

  11. misssim says:

    awww I feel so sad for you! But judging from your awesome website I can see that you have the talent and passion for nails — so don’t let one bad event turn you off! keep trying and don’t give up hope! things will improve!

Leave a Reply

