Design Festa Update

I’m rather sorry to report that the Design Festa did not turn out as well as I hoped. It just wasn’t a nail crowd at all, plus attendance was really bad due to crummy weather. I did sell a few things, met some nice folks, and some sweet people I know came to my booth to support me, but the audience was  just not there. There seemed to be a lot of guys. I was offering Manly-cures and painting guy’s nails and Konading them with skulls, but most of the guys weren’t really brave enough to give it a go (mohawks and tons of facial piercings, yes, but nail polish= no!) I overheard a few people complaining about poor sales and low attendance, so I don’t think it was just me.

It was kind of fun, but the preparation was really time-c0nsuming and I’m not even going to think about the financial aspect of it. However, I do have some awesome stock for my Etsy shop, so I’ve been posting them for sale.  If you couldn’t make it to Tokyo, now’s your chance to pick up some original goodies  at a very reasonable price! (End shameless plug).

Here are some booth pictures:

RIMG0013

RIMG0017

It was definitely an experience, but I think if I’d know how it would’ve turned out, I would have stayed at home and drank some hot cocoa and watched 24. The latest season DVDs have just started coming out, so don’t tell me how it ends!

On the bright side, I should be able to keep my Etsy shop stocked for quite a while!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Design Festa Update

  1. Jennifer says:

    Sorry it didn’t turn out as you’d hoped, it looks like you put a major amount of time and effort into it as well. Hopefully you will pick the sales back up from your Etsy Shop 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for your kind words! I acutally sold four items on Etsy since last night, so I hope to make it up there.

  2. Kirsten says:

    Ah that’s real bummer, I’m so sorry. You worked so hard for this.

  3. Kirsten says:

    Ah bummer, I’m so sorry. You worked so hard for this.

  4. Violet says:

    Aw that sucks! I know you were working so hard to make this happen 😦 I hope the etsy shop does really well to make up for it all!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Violet! Things don’t always turn out like we planned, but I’m picking myself up from here and posting lots of goodies on Etsy.

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Kirsten- it just wasn’t a nail crowd. People weren’t even looking- just walking on by. If I had been selling trucker hats and ironic black-rimmed glasses, I would have made a killing. The bad weather kept a lot of folks away too. It’s a bummer but at least Etsy should be bursting at the seams!

  6. Valerie says:

    Don’t give up, you are an amazing nailphile. I really enjoy to read you and hope that things in the future head for the best!

  7. Ruthless says:

    Their loss=my gain!! I’ll be stocking up on your etsy stuff soon

  8. Annabelle says:

    2nd picture would have me standing there for hours trying to decide on what to get. And then I’d buy half the stock.=]

  9. Lucy says:

    I’m so sorry for you. I just pray you see many nails on Etsy. Maybe another show will come along and you can try again with this stock.

  10. Pingback: Finally Sold All Them Nails « Nevertoomuchglitter’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

