Sparkly Sumac

Here’s a good fall color, though it’s hard to pull off with my white hands. This is what happens when you mix red and green together- you get auburnish brown. This is 1/2 Essie Jelly Apple, a neutral red jelly, and Pa #51, a medium neutral green. Pa is a Japanese brand, but there’s nothing particularly special about this brand, I just used it in a franken because it’s too sheer to wear on its own.  I love greens, but sheer greens are a bit gross.

The resulting color reminds me of sumac berries- better on the bush than on my fingers, I think. There’s just a little too much red in it to be flattering on my pale skin.  So I slapped some yellow glitter topcoat to try and make the color a little more appealling.

img_3403

img_3402

Check out my zombie skin-tone! I need to get a little sunshine!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sparkly Sumac

  1. Lucy says:

    Love the color you frankened! Pale skin was always prized. I don’t know what the obsession for having tanned skin is. I really don’t get it. Especially spray tanned skin is even worse.

  2. Jodie says:

    I love the polish. I think it actually suits your skin tone. This would be a good Christmas polish as well. Loving the red and gold. x

  3. This is a cool color, love the glitter topcoat!

  4. Annabelle says:

    Never would have thought to put a yellow glittler on the red. I love how it came out, though!! I don’t know why you think you need sun, I wish I had pale skin, it looks so delicate if it isn’t sickly looking.

  5. my eyes….get me my sunglasses, quick, lol!! My hands are always white since they break out in the sun, so I hear ya on the white hands thing!!

    I like this color on you though, i think it looks nice.

  6. beautyjudy says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! You have lovely skin. The polish is pretty, even if it isn’t complimentary! You show us plenty that are! 🙂

Leave a Reply

