Evergreen

This one is more Christmas-like than I had intended, but it’s a fun and sparkly color. I’ve been disappointed with the forest greens that are almost black, like OPI’s Here Today, Aragon Tomorrow. I do love deep green, but not when it’s virtually indistinguishable from black.

This is a very easy franken- it’s China Glaze Watermelon Rind with a pea-sized amount of MAC Reflects Teal glitter. The polish is already a glass-flecked finish, but the MAC iridescent microglitter really adds some sparkle-tacularity to it.  I have the full-sized jar of this glitter, and even I haven’t used it up yet! When you add glitter, do a tiny bit at a time and remember that smaller glitter is better. Medium can be do-able, but chunky is really tough to pull off both in terms of texture and wearability.

Even Deborah Lippmann couldn’t quite get the super-chunky glitter right- anyone have a bottle of  that Funky Chunky?  I’m sorry, I read the explanation of how it’s a new style nail polish and meant to evoke images of couture fashion,  etc. but I haven’t seen it look good on anyone.  If you want a chunky sequined look, paint your nails first and then sprinkly the chunky bits (glitter, sequins, confetti, etc.)  on while the base color is  still wet. Add a topcoat and go!

IMG_0290

Two coats- the base color hasn’t changed too much, but there’s a depth and sparkle to it, especially in the light. We’re smack dab in the middle of a typhoon right now, so I haven’t seen the sun for days.

IMG_0292

IMG_0295

I added some wheat-type decals to it in an attempt to look more autumnal. Hmm, not really an improvement but at least my nails don’t look quite so much like Christmas.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Evergreen

  1. kachihadashi says:

    I love this franken! Green + sparkles + purple shimmer = awesomeness!
    Sorry about the typhoon 😦 How bad is it? I live in Kyoto now and the weather forecast said it will arrive here tomorrow, so I’m a little worried… It’s my first storm here in Japan^^

    Oh, and can you please post a picture of a bottle of gradation liquid? I want to try it, but my Japanese isn’t so great, so I probably won’t recognise it when I see it in a shop xD Arigatou!

    Have a nice day!

  2. Kirsten says:

    I actually think Liz over at http://iceomaticsnails.blogspot.com/2009/10/franken-fun-hunky-chunky-and-its-muse.html did a very good job.
    It is everything funky chunky wants to be and more.

  3. Annabelle says:

    I love the macro shot!! It looks like a purple-green rainbow.=]

  4. Lucy says:

    Very pretty Jen! I like the wheat decals. Hope your doing okay during the typhoon. The weather doesn’t seem to be very good in many countries.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! The typhoon was a bit of a letdown- I was hoping for a day off of work, but instead it was bright and sunny! I guess it’s better that way, but since we never get snow days in Tokyo, I was hoping for a typhoon day!

Leave a Reply

