Here’s What I’m Doing This Weekend…

It’s a sweet, sweet 5 day weekend in Japan, but I’m going to be painting for the upcoming Tokyo Design Festa on October 24 and 25. It’s all original art, and I figured that my nails qualified, so I got two adjacent booths and am preparing goodies to fill them.

Here’s a little sample of what I’m making:

IMG_6541

IMG_6546

IMG_6545

Tiny clay cane Santas with Swarovski crystals, though it feels weird to paint these in September!

IMG_6551

Fish decals with dotting tool gravel and bubbles.

IMG_6552

Pink overdose! Pink Konad lace on dark pink with pink and silver hearts with silver polka dots.

IMG_6554

Super girly- pink, black lace, decals, hearts and rhinestones.

And what have I been wearing on my nails during this burst of creativity?

:::waaah waaah:::

Essie Cloud 9, FOUR coats. It wasn’t as streaky as most Essies are, and I needed to behave myself at work.

IMG_6531

I haven’t been doing any manis since I’m trashing them with all this painting. I need to clean the Konad plates and stamper with nail polish remover as I’m working, so that pretty much destroys anything on my nails.

So, if you’re in Tokyo on October 24 and 25, come down to the Tokyo Big Site forum and see me in person.

Anyone remember this from the NES Legend of Zelda? I might turn into that crabby old storekeeper if things don’t sell, but I’ll be happy to meet some readers in person!

buy_something_will_ya

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Here’s What I’m Doing This Weekend…

  1. Marie says:

    They’re all very nice! If I had the patience and skills I’d have that kind of mani all the time. But for now, I just paint and maybe do some Konad.
    You’re really talented, both creatively and skill wise!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Marie! We’ll see how the Design Festa goes. I acutally don’t have time to do anything to my nails these days at all, but I hope to get back into it soon.

  2. Violet says:

    Ahaha I loved that guy in Zelda! These are all so beautiful, you are really insanely talented. Of course my favorites are the super girly pink and black but I admire your painting skills in the gold fish ones too. If they haven’t sold after this weekend I might have to snap some up πŸ˜€

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Violet! I’ll be posting a few goodies on my Etsy store if I have any leftovers, but for now I’m still several hundred pairs short! I think I’m well on my way to polish related carpal tunnel syndrome, but until then, I’m keeping on!

  3. Kae says:

    Enjoy your long weekend, I’m sure that your art will be snatched up like that! They look beautiful πŸ™‚

  4. Annabelle says:

    I’m sure it’ll sell, they look like less-blinged out versions of your last post.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m getting into the bling slowly- I have to work my way up to true Japanese style blingy nails. Pretty soon I’m going to be making those nails with whipped cream and lollipops.

  5. Ruth says:

    Oooo I hope that if there are any left over you’ll put them on Etsy how gorgeous! I’m wearing a pair of yours right now since I just chewed my nails off somewhat yesterday 😦

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks a lot! I will put some stock on Etsy end of September but I’m still way behind for the Design Festa. Glad to hear the nails are working out for you!

  6. Yaya says:

    i loooove the lace design! so cute

  7. Lucy says:

    Jen you are major talented! The fruit nails are my favorite followed by the pink and black lace. I love them al!! Wish I could be saying I’d see you in Tokyo but I won’t. I’m sure you’ll do well and sell a ton of things. Do the Japanese like anything with a Halloween theme? I don’t think they celebrate that holiday do they?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Lucy, awww…thanks. The Japanese don’t really understand Halloween and don’t go trick or treating or anything like that, but they like the design and to have costume parties. It’s one of my favorite holidays, so I’m going to make some goodies for it. If they don’t sell, I’ll wear them myself!

  8. kachihadashi says:

    Tokyo Design Festa is on my birthday and I’ll be in Japan at the time, so I think I’ll come and have look at your booths! Your nails are great, so creative and colourful… I love them!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Ooh! That would be fun. I’ll give you a birthday present then! Stop by, I’ll probably be hard to miss though the Design Festa is HUGE.

  9. Brooke says:

    the green glitter with fruit just took me HIGHER

Leave a Reply

