Japanese Nail Art 9

Here’s another collection of everyone’s favorite wacky nail art from Japan! Generally, nails have been getting shorter and less blingy as the economy has worsened.  Not sure if it’s a real correlation or not, but those blingy manicures cost well upwards of $150, so I’m sure people are cutting back.

As always, these are images from salons and magazines, not my own.

allie charm 7

Black and white- very striking and a little different from the usual. Salon Allie Charm, Tokyo.

barbie 2

What are these? Magic amulets? I think the middle one is a bottle of polish, but I’m not sure.

barbie

Interesting stencil/cutout sort of pattern. Both images, Barbie Salon Ueno, Tokyo.

salamandre

Some strawberries, lemons, oranges and ??? What are the brown and pink bits?  Simple and cute, but slightly mysterious.  Salamandre Salon, Tokyo.

march 3 2

The chain and cameo look- I really wonder how long these bits stay on.

March 3

Glitter gradation with paint and rhinestone overlay. Nice work and interesting colors. Both images Salon March 3, Tokyo.

lange 2

Very nice orange gradation with lotus flowers and glitter. I wish my gradations were that smooth!

l'ange

Just in case you weren’t clear on the concept…all the art is labelled! Very cute Japanese style and everything is spelled right! Salon L’ange, Tokyo.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail polish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Japanese Nail Art 9

  1. Violet says:

    The last ones are really cute, quite laid back for Japanese nail art. I think out of all of them though the ones I would actually wear are the stencil cut outs. Very cute!

  2. Lucy says:

    The black & white and orange gradiation are lovely. The rest are way to over the top for me. I just can’t imagine how you would go about your day with all of that stuff on your nails. Thanks for showing them. I enjoy looking at the art that went into them.

  3. Annabelle says:

    I love how they had to label the nails!! I think if the glitter gradiation nails were shorter, I would defantally wear those.

  4. beautyjudy says:

    Those are cool nail art designs! Love it but yeah, a couple are over the top!

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks for looking, everyone. I’ve been on the lookout for the crazy, wacky nails but they seem to be going a little out of fashion these days. I’ll be scouting out the really bizarre stuff for the next post on Japanese nail art!

Leave a Reply

