Sparkling Rainstorm

I have a bottle of CG Rainstorm, which is a sort of watery periwinkle with very sparse blue microglitter. My bottle has a whiff of rotten eggs about it- I have never smelled a polish like this before. I really like the color, but it’s sheer after three coats and just doesn’t build all that well. It’s sort of runny and tends to pool around the cuticles.

IMG_6514

This is three rather thick coats and still really bad VNL.

So, glitter to the rescue! I added some MAC Reflects Blue glitter to it, and it made it much more opaque and glittery, without altering the color too much.  I had a puddle of nail polish about the size of a US quarter and added a small pea-size scoop of glitter.

IMG_6515

This is two thin coats. Still a little VNL on the pinkie, but the glitter made it a lot more opaque without changing the base color too much.

IMG_6518

And then for some reason, I decided to apply a bit of Crackpolish over it- you know, that 80s style polish that shrinks as it dries, creating a “crackle” finish:

IMG_6520

EPIC FAIL! It stained my cuticles like crazy and instead of “cracking,” it sort of  just clumped up. I’ll have to experiment with it some more, but man, it was a mess.

I have been painting my butt off lately getting ready for the Design Festa- I decided to either go big or not do it at all, so I got two booths next to each other.  I have to make another 400 sets of nails before October 24. Yikes! I don’t plan to sell all them, but I want a really good amount of work to show.  I currently have: 39 sets of bejeweled nails, 35 sets of Konaded nails, 600 plain and I haven’t even really started the Japanese nail-art ones. If anyone wants to come over to my place to paint, you’re invited.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sparkling Rainstorm

  1. Violet says:

    Omg that’s a hell of a lot of sets of nails!! I think you’re going to go really well though 🙂 It’s a real pity about the China Glaze, the colour so pretty. Maybe that bottle was a one off formula mistake? I’ve never smelled a polish like rotten eggs either. The glitter version is very cute though!

  2. Kae says:

    It looks so great with the mac pigment! a bummer about the crackle ;x

  3. Pushpa says:

    That’s such a pretty color with the glitter! Using the crackle polish is a neat idea too, I’m sure you will find some way to make it work!

  4. Polly says:

    That’s really pretty! I bought that a few years ago and was disappointed that it was so sheer, and that the glitter was so sparse that it seemed lumpy. Perhaps I can resurrect it. 🙂

  5. Lucy says:

    Very pretty color on you. Your crackle look is funny and disgusting looking! Sorry your crackle lumped up instead. Funny!

  6. Annabelle says:

    I can help with painting!! And glueing things!! And mixing colors!! LOL just let me help!!

Leave a Reply

