Abalone Shimmer

I had a great weekend away, though my cuticles are a little grouchy today because I didn’t bring any hand cream or any beauty supplies at all, so they sort of got back at me when I polished my nails today.  I also had a right middle finger nail break, but not too serious. I suspect it was because I spent a lot of time in the onsen- basically natural hot springs in a Japanese-style hot tub made of cedar or stone.  Most hotels have a couple different tubs at different temperatures and mineral concentrations. This all added up to a lot of time in the water. Whenever nails get wet, they are very weak.

Anyway, all that aside, we had gorgeous weather despite a forecast of rain, and we saw a couple botanical gardens, lots of pretty coastline, and ate some delicious traditional Japanese food. These photos are from the Izu Peninsula in Shizuoka Prefecture.

IMG_0314

IMG_0245

Traditional meal with sashimi (sliced raw fish), pickled vegetables, tempura, and two different kinds of “nabe,” which is basically food steamed in a pot above an open flame (in the brown pot that sort of looks like a football and the silver pots).  We also had soup, rice, and two kinds of dessert.

IMG_0294

Very clear water- I want to go snorkelling or scuba diving here sometime.

IMG_0201

Ladyslipper orchids in the Dogashima Botanical Garden.

After relaxing, seeing all these pretty sights, and reluctantly returning to Tokyo to get back to work, I came up with a sort of unusual (for me)  franken. It’s a bit sheer and after applying it, I realized it looked a lot like OPI Breathe Life, except green rather than blue.  I used Pure Ice Heartbreaker (translucent with a very light green microshimmer) and added MAC Frozen White pigment and MAC Glitter in Reflects Teal and got a sort of frosty greenish blue that reminds me of the inside of abalones. I don’t usually franken sheer colors but I felt like doing one today. I added a few little decals here and there to add some interest and to cover up some nail imperfections. Sheer shimmers will definitely bring out any unevenness or staining, so be careful!

Please ignore the bad cuticles and slightly shorter middle finger.

IMG_0336

IMG_0337

I’m not in love with MAC salespeople as the ones I’ve come across have always been rather snooty, but dang, MAC makes a fabulous glitter. It’s superfine so it doesn’t clump up in the mixture and I have never had experiened any color fading with MAC. However, it is crazy expensive and there are others on the market that work well too. I’ve had good luck with some glitter I got from Dollar Nail Art- no color changing or bleaching. However, it’s not as fine as MAC and can clump if you’re not careful. I have some jelly glitters coming up with those cheaper glitters, so we’ll see how they hold up.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Abalone Shimmer

  1. beautyjudy says:

    I’m sorry to hear you haven’t had a good encounter with MAC sales people. i tend to see the same two or three girls every time I go into the one that’s near me, and they’ve been helpful and even fun. I think it’s better buying something you are unsure of price wise when you have quality service and nice sales people!
    Also – this light franken is very pretty! And I like your nail art!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Judy! I’m glad to hear that you’ve had a good experience at MAC. The MAC counters that I’ve been to in New York and Tokyo had very snooty staff who were just plain rude. I like this color but I’m going to Konad over it tonight!

  2. Lucy says:

    Very pretty franken. This really does look like abalone. I like the decorations also. What beautiful photos. It must have been magnificent being in that enviroment. The hot tubs sounded fantastic. Love the phot of the orchid. Very pretty.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you, Lucy! It was great just to get away, and the outdoor hot tubs were just lovely. For only 40 minutes by bullet train from Tokyo, it was a very nice getaway.

  3. Kae says:

    Your weekend looked and sounded fabulous, I am so jealous (urayamashi ;p)!

    Your franken is so pretty, love the shimmer on it!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Kae! It was really fun to get away and have someone else do all the cooking! Not cheap but very worthwhile. 🙂

  4. Violet says:

    Wow those photos are so pretty and the food looks delicious! I think the franken is a little bit too sheer for my nails but it actually suits yours well. Very pretty al round!

  5. Annabelle says:

    I like this, i bet my mom wouldn’t mind it either, right now she likes sheer-er and less look-at-me colors than I would think. Oh well, it’s a great color. And that first picture of the penninsula is amazing. I’m gonna have to come to Japan someday. It is just gorgeous over there.

Leave a Reply

