September Song

Every September 1st, my mom and I recite a poem called “September Song.” I had to call her from either Cambodia or Laos one year so we didn’t miss a year, but it was worth it. It’s an oldie but a goodie- my mom learned it in the fifth grade or so and always loved it. So of course I decided to make some nail art out of it!

September Song by Helen Hunt Jackson

The golden-rod is yellow/The corn is turning brown;

The trees in apple orchards/With fruit are bearing down.

The gentian’s bluest fringes/Are curling in the sun;

In dusty pods the milkweed /Its hidden silk has spun.

From dewy lanes at morning /The grapes’ sweet odors rise;

At noon the roads all flutter /With yellow butterflies.

By all these lovely tokens /September days are here,

With summer’s best of weather/And autumn’s best of cheer.

So, with the poem in mind, I did some nail art using my trusty old nail tips because I can never paint my left hand that well.  I included apples, butterflies, 2 nails with corn, some milkweed, grapes with some wavy lines to show the “sweet odors”, some asters (really daisy nail decals, but use your imagination!) and some goldenrod, which looks like alien mutant goldenrod because it was just too hard to paint on a teeny nail.

IMG_0465

IMG_0466

Right hand: Corn (freehand), apples (Konad and fimo fruit slice), milkweed pod (freehand), milkweed puffy thingamajig (freehand with plastic jewel.)IMG_0469

IMG_0472

Left hand from left to right: Asters reflecting in the brook (decals and freehand), mutant goldenrod (freehand), yellow butterfly (Konad with freehand dotting), and fragrant grapes (Konad).

IMG_0470

Thumb: Corn (freehand with dotting tool).

Happy September 1st, everyone! Fall is my favorite season, but I’m not quite ready for it yet. I have a few summery bright colors left in me before I abandon myself to vampies and deep jewel tones.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to September Song

  1. lucy says:

    Thanks for sharing the poem. I also had a poem that I partially memorised from school. I can’t remember much of it anymore. I’m sure I could probably look it up. I love your nails. Very cute with all the fall themed vegetables and flowers.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you Lucy! I mostly did this one for my mom but I don’t think she’s seen it yet. I’m still not really in fall mode yet.

  2. beautyjudy says:

    Thanks for sharing the poem and WOW. Your nail art continues to amaze me!!

  3. Danielle says:

    Loved the poem and your beauitful nails. The gold with the grapes is simply beauitful! You are extremely talented! ❤

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Danielle. The gold was just some old eyeshadow and white polish but I liked the color and might do a full mani with it soon.

  4. Danielle says:

    That’s beautiful nails; sorry! 🙂

Leave a Reply

