Lady Liberty

My guy and I have been in a bit of a funk lately. It was a strange, rainy summer, and we just didn’t get to do very much fun stuff.  Tokyo is a great city, but it’s easy to get into a rut and just go to the same places.

So we decided to splash out a bit and have afternoon tea at the Park Hyatt Shinjuku, where the movie Lost in Translation was filmed. They have a lounge on the 41st floor of the hotel where you can drink tea and look out over the city.  A little pricey, but a fun experience.  It was around $35 each for tea, scones, little tiny sandwiches and 3 cakes the size of a postage stamp (really!).  We got to sample a bunch of different teas, so I enjoyed that.  My guy had to go to McDonald’s for a hamburger afterwards because there wasn’t much food, but it was fun to dress up a little and go to a place we normally wouldn’t.

I actually went with classic red (Orly Qunitessential Crimson), since I wore a black dress with red flowers on it. But before I went out, this is what I had on: a matte Statue of Liberty green with metallic tips.

I mixed 95% Orly Bikini Envy (a pastel green frost with strong yellow tones) and 5% China Glaze Calypso Blue and got a warmer toned medium green pastel shimmer.  It was opaque in one coat!

IMG_0353

I made it matte and then added some metallic green tips with China Glaze Cherish.

IMG_0357

This combination of greens reminds me of US dollars for some reason.  I had been wanting a Statue of Liberty green matte for a while. I believe KO Cosmetics does make a matte green, and it is called Liberty, but it was around $18 a bottle.  I wouldn’t wear it enough to be worth $18!

In other news, I also got a gel nails starter kit so I’m going to try making my own wacky gel nail creations. It’s just an el-cheapo starter kit, with the UV light, some clear gel, and a brush or two, but I have some funky ideas to try.  I had gel nails done couple of times with varying results.  It really depends on the skill of the nail technician- my last one piled in on pretty thickly.  My mom got some gels  done and they lifted after a week, but I don’t think the nail tech primed them right.  She also didn’t seal them, so they yellowed.  I was too busy looking at the dusty polishes in the back  of the salon (50 cent OPIs!) to really keep an eye on it.  So I’m going to give the gel nails a whirl, because I want to make some nails that just aren’t possible with only polish.  If I’m any good at it, I’ll show the results. If not, I’ll stick to frankening!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lady Liberty

  1. manicuremania says:

    I love this! The shiny tips with the matte base looks awesome in that color, and I fear I will have to try a variation of this myself soon.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m glad you liked it! I just discovered that OPI Hey! Get in Lime! might be a similar color if mattified if you don’t want to go through the trouble of mixing.

  2. Jules says:

    AHHH the metallic tips are genius!! xx

  3. PurpleKisses says:

    what are gel nails

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      They’re sort of a gel coating that goes over natural nails. The gel is brushed on and cured under a UV light at a salon.

  4. I’ve got to get some of that matte top coat…it seems like matte is all the rage this fall, but I need durability (so matte polishes are out). I love these nails – gorgeous mix of greens (I have Cherish on mine as a secondary color this week too – beautiful, but streaky on me).

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Jamie,
      It is a little streaky. I’ve had good luck with a sort of sticky basecoat underneath, but the metallics can be tricky. Essie’s topcoat is a bit of a ripoff at $10 but it’s fun and cheaper than getting lots of matte polishes. I remember Wet n Wild used to have a mattifier back in the early 90s that was just a buck!

  5. lucy says:

    That is a very pretty manicure. I like the shiny French tip.

Leave a Reply

