Don’t Try This At Home!

Just a quick warning before I forget to mention something hazardous! It’s getting to be that time of year when glow-in-the-dark polishes start going on sale.  These glowy polishes can be “charged” by placing them near a light source.

I once put a bottle of GITD polish on a  table lamp near the light bulb, to charge it up,  and then promptly forgot about it. With a very loud explosive “POP” about 5 minutes later, the bottle exploded, getting glass and polish everywhere. That inside of that lampshade  glowed like it was from another planet. The ceiling, the painting near the lamp, and many other things around were also very illuminated.

I may be the only person around dumb enough to have done such a thing, but if you’re going to put your polish near a light source, keep an eye on it and don’t put it too close to anything that gets hot- that means light bulbs!  There’s a reason nail polish bottles state “Keep Away from Heat and Flame.”

Just for reference, I have also: dropped a fork in a toaster and fished after it, walked straight into a parking meter, and as a little kidlet, I had a crash involving a tricycle, a giant hill, a freshly paved driveway and some buckets of tar. So I guess it’s safe to say that I’m clumsy.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Don’t Try This At Home!

  1. beautyjudy says:

    Ha! Thanks for this amusing post! This sounds like something I would do! I justed wanted to also let you know that after yesterday’s post by you and Nivipa, I’ve added you to my blog roll. I’ve quite enjoyed reading your posts! Have a great day!

  2. Nixxy says:

    Yikes! Sounds like something I would do, too 🙂

  3. wixbetty says:

    It shouldn’t overheat if placed near a fluorescent bulb, right?
    They stay cooler, don’t they? I should do an experiment…=]

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I guess the flourescent bulb is cooler but I’d keep an eye on it! Let us know the results if you try it out!

  4. Nessa says:

    Thanks for the warning! I didn’t think that could happen.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Me neither! I didn’t realize how hot those bulbs could get. I’m just glad no one got nail-polish bottle shrapnel in them!

  5. Jamie says:

    I suppose that’s one way to make your lampshade glow… 😉

    Glad you’re okay though.

  6. Annabelle says:

    hahaa, you CAn See When The Lights Are off.

  7. Kae says:

    Wow I didn’t know it would explode from lamp heat, thanks for the warning I was going to get some glow in the dark this year!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Glad I could save someone from a similar fate! I think putting it under the lamp for a minute would give you the same effect.

  8. lucy says:

    That is too funny! Were you able to get it off the lamp and things? I have the one from China Glaze. I stuck my fingers under the light. No explosions! I hate for my fingers to blow, how would I paint them!

Leave a Reply

