Paraffin Spa

Whew! I’ve been painting nails all day for the upcoming Tokyo Design Festa. I want to get away next weekend, so I figured I’d better make some progress today. My nails are really messy at the moment and I have splotches of polish everywhere. I also have an achy back from being hunched over the table painting.

I did take a fun break for the paraffin spa! I’m pretty bad about applying hand cream enough, so I use this to keep my hands happy. My guy likes it too but won’t admit it. It’s basically a Crockpot that you melt paraffin wax in. When it’s liquefied, dip a couple times, leave on for 10 minutes, and aaah! It feels greasy after the wax is removed but then it soaks right in with no trace of oiliness.

IMG_0448

This was $39.99 at Target, but it’s only available on-line as far as I know- very basic, with only an on/off switch, no temperature controls. It came with 3 pounds of wax and some mittens with plastic liners to wear to keep the heat in. I guess 3 pounds of wax will do around 20 or so dips.
IMG_0449
Melted wax.
IMG_0450

Monster hands!

It’s probably pretty low on anyone’s list of needs, but it keeps my hands happy when I do it once a week or so.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Paraffin Spa

  1. Annabelle says:

    Your habd looks like one of those fake habds that come out around Halloween. Monster hands, indeed!! XD

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I was hoping I could peel off the wax in one piece and have a nice monster-hand shape, but this wax is very soft and won’t hold the form. Still lots of fun- and I can say it’s therapeutic!

  2. Serikiyo says:

    Omg, these things are so fun! My parents have one. Peeling the wax off is the best part. XD
    Plus it’s great for arthritis so my hands feel pretty and painless. 😀

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Oh, I didn’t know that people used it for arthritis. Glad to hear it helps!

    • Serikiyo says:

      Well, it’s really just the heat that helps. You can get the same results with heating packs and such, but it’s another good excuse to get one. 😉

  4. Crystal says:

    Can you put your feet in there too? How fabulous!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I could fit my feet in (size 8.5) but it might be a tight fit. There are much larger units available, I just went for the compact one. It’s also nice for elbows too.

  5. lucy says:

    Looks like a mannequins hand! Good idea to take care of your hands. It must feel wonderful to do.

Leave a Reply

