Rose Mallow

The rose mallow is a flower in a sort of dusty pink shade, just like my nails.  Of course the real thing doesn’t have any glitter, but the color needed a little something. This is a shade with just a touch of gray in it, which is one of my favorite kinds to make because it’s very flattering on ghostly pale skin tones.  I have to be conservative at work today, so I reluctantly took off the Moonpool that I had on yesterday.

This is 5 drops of Orly Pink Chocolate, 5 drops of white creme, and one tiny drop of black creme.  Mix the white and black to get gray, then add the Orly Pink Chocolate. Kind of an odd name, I guess. It’s a medium/pink with a brown tone to it.  Sort of a faded berry shade, I’d say. I’m not making it sound very appealling but it’s a nice shade and something a little different from the usual berries.  Worn straight, it’s very autumnal, which is not exactly what I was aiming for today.

IMG_6380

IMG_6381

I can never resist adding a little glitter! This is sort of juicy looking and reminds me a little  of raspberry sorbet.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Pastel, Pinks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rose Mallow

  1. Karla says:

    I love this franken! The glitters, especially; quite subtle but it looks like metallic sugar when under proper lighting. Yum!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Karla! It reminds me of the glaze on strawberry donuts with some sugar. For some reason, my nails often make me hungry!

  2. Lucy says:

    Love this color Jen! Very pretty and love the glitter. Are you all appropriate inside and out? What’s next, any series or special polishes coming up?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Ooh, Lucy, I’m glad you asked! I have my first-ever guest post coming up but it’s very important and I’m waiting for people to start trickling back in before I post it.

      I’m going to be doing a few interesting series. Here’s what I’ve been toying with:

      1) Hideous Colors- what happens when I try to make a really ugly franken? What colors are so bad they’re not on the commercial market? Can I discover my own new awful yet awesome shade?

      2) TiNS Week. I know this is a franken blog, but it’s also Never Too Much Glitter and TiNS fits in perfectly with glitter!

      3) Mattes
      I know everyone is doing them, so I might as well get on the bandwagon. I’m going to be attempting to make some matte glitter, like colored gunmetal.

      Any suggestions always welcome! 🙂

  3. Kae says:

    That’s a pretty color, I like the glittery touch!

  4. Nora says:

    I like the color very much very elegant!

  5. Ooo, Pink with glitter = Awesome-ness. Well, to me at least. lol I Just LOVE pinks and glitters and glitter just adds a girlie and fun touch to it. =)

  6. lazycakes says:

    hello glitter girl! I read an older post on sasse’s stamp(????) blog a post “Tuesday Tips” i think about thinning the SV top coat with polish thinner to keep it from dragging or smearing nail art when it gets too thick, there is only one sentence about it but I thought it might help you with the Seche being too thick.

  7. Sandra says:

    That’s… great! I’ve never seen a polish like that 🙂

  8. Danielle says:

    This franken is so delicate, beautiful and elegant. I love the glitter too! Be perfect for wedding nails! ❤

  9. Cara says:

    Such a beautiful nail colour!

Leave a Reply

