With Enough Duct Tape, You Can Do Anything

Well, the A/C is tentatively “installed” resting in the door frame, propped up on a shelf and surrounded by cardboard and duct tape.  It’s pretty…ummm….make-shift, but it will do. The cardboard (2 layers, cut from the box the A/C unit came in) seems to be keeping out the hot air mostly.  It’s been windy and it still seems to be holding. I’m sure I’m going to come back one day and find the air conditioner has fallen out of the door and gotten smashed on the balcony.

IMG_0401

Check out my awesome duct-tape job:

IMG_0402

See how the warm cafe latte tone  of the duct-tape complements the cardboard and the silver door frame? This is interior design at its finest. I’m really digging my glamorous expatriate lifestyle here in the Far East. All joking aside, behind that ugly beige curtain is a gorgeous view- I can see clear across Tokyo from my balcony. It’s hazy these days because of the pollution and heat, but it is a stunning view. I’ll get a photo when things get clearer.

But seriously- Japan has toilets with pre-warmed seats that make noise so no one can hear you tinkle. They have eyelash perming, robotic nurses, and they lead the world in manufacturing and electronics technology. They invented the Walkman, Nintendo and the Tamagotchi. Why can’t they put central heating/AC in apartments here?

Yes, there is no central heating in Japan except in the way north where the pipes will freeze otherwise. Everywhere else, ya gotta use a kerosene/gas heater or freeze. I broke down and got a kerosene heater because it was so so cold, but I was sure it was going to send out clouds of carbon monoxide or radon or something and kill me in my sleep.  The instruction manual said “Use with proper ventilation. Open a window while in use.” Open a window? Isn’t that defeating the purpose of using a heater?  But seeing your breath inside the house because it’s so cold is really, really crummy. Japan is not as cold as the east coast of the US where I’m from, but it’s a really damp cold that just settles in and lingers.

I can handle the humid heat better than the humid cold, but I’m glad the A/C appears to be working for now!

Now if only my Seche Vite would magically thin itself out…then I’d be back in the Franken Zone. But I promise I’ve got a few fun goodies coming up!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to With Enough Duct Tape, You Can Do Anything

  1. Violet says:

    XD This is me laugh! At least you’ll be nice and cool until it falls out!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I should post an update- I had to use another roll of tape on it. Words cannot describe the hideousness. But hey- it’s working (for now!)

  2. Lucy says:

    I keep picturing that AC falling out the window. Hope it doesn’t happen. Glad it’s working for you. Must really be a magnificent view to enjoy. Your decorating skills will be copied and be all the rage!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      At least it will just fall 6 inches onto the balcony and not onto someone’s head below. I had to add another roll of tape and I’ve got a third roll in reserve.

      I like to think I’m putting the “shabby” back in “shabby chic!” 😉

Leave a Reply

