Bedazzlin’ Fool

Does anyone remember the Bedazzler? It was a kind of rhinestone-setting device that was on a lot of informercials in the 1980s.  The end results were always pretty tacky but intruguing. I think everyone pitching the product was required to have every visible item of clotihng Bedazzled.

Well, I don’t have a Bedazzler, but I have been hitting the rhinestones pretty hard. Check out what I’m making for my Etsy shop/Tokyo Design Festa:

IMG_6501

IMG_6479

IMG_6489

IMG_6493

I have got to go out and get an air conditioner today. My apartment didn’t come with one, and now that the rainy season ended, things are getting pretty steamy in Tokyo. I’ll be back to my regularly scheduled frankens very soon- after the A/C gets set up. I’m getting really bad bubbling when I do my nails, plus I ran out of Seche thinner for my Seche Vite.  I found out without a quick-dry topcoat, my nails stay gummy for a really long time and I wreck every manicure. But stay tuned- I have a very special one coming up with a guest post!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Non-Nail Stuff, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bedazzlin’ Fool

  1. Alexlyndra says:

    I really like the first and last designs!

  2. Ooo, i love the artificial nail designs you did! Their so unique and ‘bedazzled’! The second one is awesome, and so girlie! =D

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, thanks! Yes, those are super duper girly- in Japan, they’re called “Princess” nails. Usually they’re really long but I only do the long ones as custom orders.

  3. musicismylifee says:

    I just might have to get me a pair of those last ones.=D

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks! I haven’t put those up yet as the more girly ones seem to be selling, but I will soon. 🙂

  4. Lucy says:

    Jen those are adoreable nails! You must be roasting. Hope you get your air conditioner very soon. I remember the bedazzler. I never bought it but I did want it. I guess you do have tons of rhinestones! I love each set of nails. I hope you do well selling them.

  5. Deniz says:

    I love the safari design =) Quick dry top coats are holy grail, I could never do without one. We don’t have Seche Vite here, so I use Sally Hansen Insta-Dri, and it dries high gloss in 30 seconds. Sadly, before I’m halfway down the bottle, it gets thicker and thicker. I’ve found a polish restorer by a local brand, I add up to ten drops before every manicure and it becomes usable again. If a bottle of Sally Hansen wasn’t about $18 in Turkey, I’d store 10 bottles of it in a corner =) Now I’ve bought Sally Hansen Mega Shine topcoat, it dries a little longer, in 60 seconds, but it’s more high gloss and more Seche Vite consistency I heard. I’ll give it a try.

  6. Little Fairy says:

    I love the 1st, 2nd and last design !

  7. I love all the nails , they I so cute. I want to try these type of designs

  8. Si Sayaovong says:

    I LOVE YOUR NAIL ART!! I’m so happy that I stumbled across this today!! I’ve been looking into designing and selling my own press on nails. But I’m having trouble finding some that are attached together like these are here. If you don’t mind me asking, where in the world did you get these from? Please help me. LOL any help will be very much appreciated! Thanks! =)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Si!
      Thanks so much for stopping by. The nails that are attached are from a Japanese 100 Yen shop called Daiso. I haven’t seen them anywhere else- they are much easier to work with than unattached ones. The store does not ship, even domestically in Japan. I may sell a few plain ones on my Etsy shop as a few people have requested blanks. However, they are REALLY small!

  9. liz says:

    *giggles* i had a bedazzler! theyre were on infomercials in the mid-90s. Most of my use was turning my brothers stuff into my stuff LOL. N i know what u mean about being teased in JH n HS… woo is a sad teen girl who doesnt fit in!.. n u know… it could have been the bedazzler…

Leave a Reply

