Nfu Oh 270

Today I had to show you a non-franken, because the color is great: Nfu Oh 270. A deep blue jelly with a tiny hint of purple. It reminds me of old cobalt glass bottles.

The color is great, but I had a lot of trouble with the application. The pigment is not very dense and the formula is thin and streaky. I was using an OPI basecoat and was getting a streaky, uneven application that was showing nail line even after 4 coats. I tried no basecoat. Even worse! I messed around with various basecoats, and finally had a little more luck with Orly Bonder. This color is a pain in the rear, but a dark cobalt jelly?! Sign me up!

Today, I’m showing Lefty a little love. Usually the right hand gets all the photos, so I figured I’d even things out a little.  Sorry the photos are blurry, but that’s the only way I could get the color accurate for some reason.  This is four coats. It’s still not 100% opaque but I love it!

IMG_0002

IMG_0005

I got mine from http://www.fabuloustreet.com/, which is the only place I know of that will ship to Japan. The owner is very nice and made sure the international shipping charges didn’t get out of hand, and she let me know the price in advance.

This is not a polish I’d recommend for the easily frustrated or for beginners, but if you know how to work a tricky polish, it just might be worth it!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish, Store-bought Colors. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nfu Oh 270

  1. That’s a really lovely blue! Nightmare about the application though… I hate that 🙂

  2. OMGOODNESS!! This color is just amazing! It does look just like those blue bottles. Very pretty!

  3. Lucy says:

    Gorgeous cobalt blue. I’ve seen some beautiful glassware that looked like this. Shame it’s such a pain to work with. It’s also gone up in price so I won’t be ordering anytime soon. Which is sad because there are so many pretty colors. I don’t understand why the polish costs so much. Your left hand looks lovely Jen! Have a nice weekend.

  4. Sybelle says:

    What a gorgeous blue!

  5. nivipa says:

    What a gorgeous blue – it puts me in mind of a starry, summer night out away from people. How beautifully, classily serene.

  6. Violet says:

    Oh the colour really is pretty! It’s a pity it’s so hard to work with, it reminds me of the colour of the night sky in old children’s books.

Leave a Reply

