Orange Glow

I did another layer franken that I wanted to show you. It’s a glowing orange that reminds me of campfires for some reason. Best of all, for tose of you who don’t feel ready to be franken-masters yet, this one is just layers- no mixing required.

The base is a red creme- any will do. I used Essie Really Red. This will provide something for the next layer to reflect off of. The top is Orly Golden Halo. By itself, GH is very light yet has a lot of reflective yellow pigment. The trick is the dark base with a lighter shade on top. Other shades like GH are Orly Sky Blue Pink, OPI Fireflies, OPI Megawatt?!, Essie Hucklebuckle, and pretty much any light-toned Sinful Colors since they are so darn sheer.

img_3169

img_3170

So if you’ve got polishes you’ve given up on because they’re too sheer or too light, try layering them over something darker and see if you get something you like! The topping polish can’t be really opaque because then you won’t be able to see the base.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orange Glow

  1. Kae says:

    That turned into such a pretty color, I love layering! 😀

  2. Lucy says:

    That is a lovely shade. Looks like a duochrome.

Leave a Reply

