Uniform Blue/Purple Velvet

Today I wanted a dirty dark blue sort of color. It’s a stormy day in Tokyo and the pastels just didn’t seem to fit with the day. But I also wanted to do a little bit of layering in the evening with a frustratingly sheer yet beautiful polish I picked up at the 100 yen store.

First, here’s the dirty dark blue, made with my trusty Orly Star Of Bombay, a deep blue with no red whatsoever in it. A lot of dark blues look the same, but this is one of the very few I’ve found with no warm or red tones in it. I realized that the result is very similar to the uniforms This is 8 parts SOB with 2 parts white creme.

IMG_6306

Above: with flash. Below, no flash, indoor lighting (and a pinkie smudge!)

IMG_6307

But the real star of the show was a microglitter fuschia with blue and purple shimmer in it that I picked up at the 100 yen store, so it was about $1US.  I really liked the color but it was sheer even at four coats. Boo!!!! So I decided it would become a topcoat instead.

IMG_6315

Here’s the end result:

IMG_6313

Aah, a deep purple that doesn’t look black…finally! It’s a rich, velvety color that’s distinctly purple even in low light.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Darks, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Uniform Blue/Purple Velvet

  1. nivipa says:

    Ooooh – I love that purple!!!

  2. Deez says:

    I l♥ve hearing about that 100 Yen store!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You have certainly gotten alot of use from that ‘Star of Bombay’ – this layering looks really cool, I love all glitters and think that micro-glitter layered over a contrasting shade is soooo pretty!

  3. This looks so PRETTTYYY! I love how nail polish can be different with just putting another top coat on them. And the glitter! OH MY it’s amazing.

  4. pam2japan says:

    I have that fuchsia glitter polish!! I never thought to layer it over a dark blue. Must try that soon. Your result is gorgeous!

  5. Lucy says:

    I liked the original color it’s very pretty. Adding that glittery polish and it’s gorgeous! Very nice colors you made Jen.

  6. Alexlyndra says:

    Love that layering!

Leave a Reply

