Rainbow Gradation

I decided to try and make a rainbow gradation out of my red gradation. It’s still not perfect, but I think I’m improving! These photos were taken indoors at night, but it’s much prettier in natural light.

IMG_6299

Above: With flash.

IMG_6298

Indoors, no flash.

Here is the brightest light I could find indoors and flash:

untitled

I added some smooth baubles and made some dots with China Glaze Calypso and my dotting tool.   This reminds me of a toy I had as a kid, but I can’t remember exactly what it was.

I want to improve at gradations, but they are harder than they look! Different polishes react differently with the liquid, so it can be very unpredictable.  I tried black before, and it was a total bust.  Still working that one out but I enjoyed the rainbows.

For all you ladies who want gradation liquid, it’s a Japan-only product by a brand called D-Nails. There are two versions, a regular and one with glitter. I’m using the plain one for now. It’s pretty expensive, about $10 or $12US  for a bottle, but it’s lasted me a few months and many practice sessions. I have heard that it can sometimes be found at Amazon.com but I’m afraid I don’t know any details.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rainbow Gradation

  1. Nessa says:

    This is sooo awesome! I haven’t seen one like this! I have been trying to do a gradation without buying the liquid and I think I might have to give in and buy it. It’s just to die for!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Go Nessa! Give it a try! Just be patient- this one took me a loong time and many wrecked manis to get right.

  2. Violet says:

    Oh that’s cute! I much prefer it with the spots and jewels. I wish they sold the liquid here in Aus!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Violet! Me too- I can’t go 10 minutes without sticking glitter or rhinestones to something, it seems.

  3. amber says:

    oooh. I loooove this!!! what a great gradation! how lovely!!

  4. musicismylifee says:

    I love the yellow color. What is it??

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi there. The yellow is a clear creme yellow I got in a Japanese dollar store. It’s similar in tone to OPI Need Sunglasses but more transparent.

  5. Lisa says:

    This is so beautiful! Just adorable.Great job, i am deeply impressed

  6. Alexlyndra says:

    I just love this one. I love colours so the colours of the rainbow can go wrong. Beautiful!

  7. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Alexlyndra. I wish my nails were a little longer so I could have included all the colors of the rainbow. I’m making some long fake nails with all the colors on them for my shop.

  8. Lucy says:

    This is an amazing manicure. Very pretty Jen. I love it with or without the jewels. Your skills are amazing.

Leave a Reply

