Red Gradation

This is a gradation I tried using Orly Quintessential Crimson and my gradation liquid.  I sort of messed up the pinkie and thumb, but I think these three came out pretty well.  I used my gradation liquid for this despite the warning that it didn’t work well with dark colors.  The manufacturer recommends light pearly pastels, but I want to do darks and crazy stuff!

IMG_6228

Today, I can’t get too crazy with the nails, but I’m going to do something fun with it after work- I’ll post pics of it if it turns out well!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art, Reds and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Red Gradation

  1. Kae says:

    I really like this! Very pretty

  2. Lucy says:

    Jen this is really a pretty gradation. I love it!

  3. Pushpa says:

    I like it too, it looks great! Also, what store(s) in Tokyo can you buy gradation liquid? Thanks!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Puspha,
      I got mine at Champe De Herbe, a makeup store in Ueno Station Atre. A lot of the little cosmetics shops in train stations sell it.

  4. ModeCrazyMakeUpOn says:

    This is pretty! Could you please tell me the name of the gradation coat you use? Thanks a lot xxx

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi there,
      I use a Japanese brand called D-Nails Gradation Liquid. I don’t think it’s available outside of Japan, but I have heard that it shows up on Amazon.com occasionally.

  5. Nixxy says:

    Oooh yeah – the index finger turned out especially well 🙂

  6. Alexlyndra says:

    Oh my gosh, that is so beautiful! I still haven’t tried gradiation. Maybe it’s time now.

  7. tartofraises says:

    I love gradiation !!

Leave a Reply

