Fireworks

Hello all! I’m going away for the 4th of July weekend (conicidentally, since of course it’s not a holiday in Japan), but I wanted to do a holiday manicure. Instead of the usual red, white and blue, I wanted to do fireworks in the evening sky.  I had some fireworks decals but they looked better in the store than on my nails. Of course there are some rhinestones involved!

First, I mixed up a good summer night sky color with OPI Siberian Ink, a deep purple with purple and blue microshimmer  and some metallic aqua/green eyeshadow that I never used.  I brushed the eyeshadow using an eyeshadow brush  into the little pool of polish I poured out and then mixed it up.  I wanted it to really glow, so I then brushed in  some silver pearl eyeshadow (Body Shop Shadow Cubes- those things are shiny- but not wearable unless it’s New Year’s Eve or something).

IMG_0401

Above: With flash. Below, no flash.

IMG_0403

Isn’t it a pretty color? It reminds me of Japanese beetles. It reminds me of the sky lit up by fireworks, so then the next step was to add some pyrotechnic pizzazz! I used some firework decals and a few rhinestones.

IMG_0404

Have a nice 4th of July weekend everyone!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fireworks

  1. Elaine says:

    BEAUTIFUL!!!

    I gave you an award on my blog!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you so much! I’m terrible at figuring out how to link stuff, etc. but please know I appreciate the award even if I can’t linkey back to it!

  2. rinni says:

    Wow, I *love* the base colour! It’s so duochromey. 😀 This is my first time commenting here I believe, though I’ve been reading for a while… so I must say that I wholeheartedly agree with you that you can never have too much glitter. 🙂

  3. Kaybee says:

    OOOOOoooooo……..AAAAAaaaaahhhhhh………… lol! They’re so pretty! Love your frankens, so very cool. Enjoy the weekend, American!

  4. Anne says:

    I want to bottle that color!

  5. Lucy says:

    The base does look like a Japenese beetle! I used to have a beetle that was embedded in acrylic whenI was a kid. I don’t know whatever happened to it. I used to carry it around everywhere. The decorations are fabulous!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! I have seen those keychains around but I always felt a little sorry for the bugs within. The only things I kill without reservation are cockroaches, mosquitoes, and ticks. I can’t even squoosh ants.

      Maybe I ought to do an Egyptian scarab beetle design with this one…

  6. Alexlyndra says:

    Whoa, I love this franken! Duochromes are lovely. Like you fireworks too!

Leave a Reply

