Persian Indigo

I couldn’t think of a name for this color, so I had to go to my color naming dictionary. Persian Indigo is the closest match.  It sounds pretty exotic- I’ll go with it.

I made a deep purple out of 1/4 red creme to 3/4 OPI Russian Navy, then added a little bit of MAC Relects Antique Gold. Unfortunately, the sparkle didn’t come through as much as I’d hoped, plus there’s been no sunlight for what feels like weeks. But it was a mysterious deep purple that I might wear again.  I like the Russian Navy a lot, but I wish it wasn’t so blackened.  OPI will be releasing a matte version of RN, and I was excited until I saw the swatches. I like mattes, but the OPI one just looked dead. I expected some matte sparkliness. In the standard RN you can see blue and reddish purple microshimmer in the light. I hoped the matte one had that microshimmer, but it looks very flat and just not all that attractive. I’ll get a couple mattes to experiment with, but I have my rice powder to make any polish matte- but it can get bumpy.

But back to today’s color….it needed a little something, so I added some very subtle Konad flowers with the Princess Special Polish in Blue Pearl (I think that’s the name.)  It was pretty but I’m itching to go back to my rhinestones! What a sparkle junkie!

IMG_5848

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Konad, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Persian Indigo

  1. THis looks really pretty! I love the details that you see when you look closer at it.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Brooke! It sort of reminds me of an old couch my grandma had. But don’t worry, I’ll be back with the crazy Konads soon!

  2. Lucy says:

    I didn’t notice the Konad at first. I just thought it was a strange finish. The color is lovely and I love the Konad design.

Leave a Reply

