Watermelon Half-Moon

MAC Cosmetics salespeople are snooty, some collections have unflattering and way overpriced colors, and in general, they are more about attitude than anything else, but dang! They make a fabulous glitter. The superfine loose glitter below has yielded some amazing frankens. It’s Reflects Antique Gold, and it provides an incredible depth and shimmer.

IMG_6068

It doesn’t look like much on, just a superfine goldish shimmer.

IMG_6073

But when it’s mixed in with polish, watch out! The franken below is China Glaze Watermelon Rind with a small pea-sized scoop of Reflects Antique Gold. It darkened the base color of the Watermelon Rind and added holoish microglitter to the glass flecks that were already in the polish.

IMG_6044

IMG_6049

I did like the China Glaze Watermelon Rind color, but it’s not really accuate. It’s too blue and bright for a watermelon. This franken was a closer color, so I tried my first half-moon mani ever. I’m not crazy about them in general, but I thought the watermelon would be a perfect shape.

IMG_6050

I painted the pink bits with a pink chrome polish (an ancient Sally Hansen Chrome Nail Makeup) and then painted a white outline. The seeds were done with a Sally Hansen nail art pen, which is almost gone- and I can’t find any here! I’ll have to stock up next time I visit the US.  The whole thing is a little wobbly, but it’s a fun mani for a summer day.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Watermelon Half-Moon

  1. Marie says:

    Wow, I had no idea Watermelon Rind would turn into something like that pouring som GOLD glitter into it! I’m totally amazed, and I really do like your franken better.

  2. Ah it’s so cute! I love that franken you made! That mac glitter really mixes well!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Glittermillie- Yes, the MAC glitter is superfine- but I’m afraid I’ll accidentally breathe some in because it flies through the air- but it mixes perfectly smoothly with polish!

  3. this mani is too cute! And yeah, it’s true about MAC associates being snooty, it seems to me that they just care about sales or commission. But anyways, I love this cute watermelon!! 😄 so summer-y and sweet.

  4. Lucy says:

    I love the shade of Watermelon Rind but didn’t think it looked realistic. Your version looks more of a true color. Looks like a foil. I love the color that came out with your franken. It’s a cute manicure. Love the watermelon!

  5. Kae says:

    I love what that glitter did! Your melon mani is super cute 🙂

  6. The Mazster says:

    omg I love that green nail varnish…just the colour i have been looking for! Love the watermelon too – looks like my credit card is going back in the red :0/ Great post btw :0)

  7. ressadennis says:

    I definitely going to try this today I have this glitter and the mac ‘reflects transparent teal’ I’m excited cause I’ve never used this much for eye shadow so I’m going to use a little bit today!

Leave a Reply

