Japanese Nail Art 8

Another edition of the weird and wonderful nail art that Japan brings to the world! Nails seem to be getting shorter, I’ve been seeing fewer and fewer of the killer talons. Still some interesting stuff, like felt and lace, as well as more variety in the colors.

anenome 1

But what happens when you wash your hands? Does the felt get all sketchy?

anenome 2

I have no idea how they got the argyle so clean…I think I need more practice! Nail Salon Anenome, Tokyo.

ange 3

Nice water marbling…another thing I just can’t get right. Still trying though! Salon Ange, Tokyo

MJ

Sorry this photo is so tiny. I’m not sure what the theme is…did she get attacked by a feather boa?  This one is definitely an attention getter! Salon MJ, Tokyo.

scarlett 1

Rhinestone “paving.”

scarlett 3

Kimono design with wisteria and camelia sculpture.

scarlett 4

Very simple, but I like them! Above images from Scarlett Nail Salon, Tokyo.

And because it wouldn’t be a complete post without some long over-the-top nails, here’s a few, all from the Allie Charm Nail Salon in Tokyo:

allie charm 1

I Poodle You!  Very nice detailed poodle.

allie charm 4

The disembodied legs on the left just crack me up! Nice freehand painting job, but something about those legs…

allie charm 8

Kimono pattern with black accents and sculped flowers.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Japanese Nail Art 8

  1. Wow! Those are some amazing designs! I don’t know how they do it!

  2. Lucy says:

    I love those argyle nails. So adorable. The marbeling is amazing. I love the poodle nails, and Betty Boop. The art work is amazing. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Japanese nail designs are so unique and colourful! I just love their style and fashion. I love the kimono designs. I also looked up some tutorials about marbeling and looks like fun to do! =D

  4. Violet says:

    Love the argyle and the last flower ones. So beautiful. I’ve never tried argyle that complicated, I think I’ll have to give it a go 😀

  5. Magnolia says:

    Thanks again for all these great photos.
    I love the feather nails and the felt hearts. Totally impractical.. and awesome!

  6. Tiff says:

    I love Japanese nail art! I am loving the second argyle one and I too am baffled by how clean the argyle is. I’ve tried and i’m just not good at it! The last one is beautiful too but I prefer shorter… still I love the Japanese kimono-style nails.

    Lol salon ‘anenome’… what a name.

  7. Kae says:

    I want to try argyle now!

  8. nail designs says:

    I want to try argyle now!

  9. I love looking at these. I just love the creativity in all of them. I really want to see those feather ones up close and personal though. I need to see what those look like – I think I might just love them, lol!

  10. Alexlyndra says:

    I can’t believe these designs. That you actually can make manicure like that!

  11. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hey everyone- Glad you liked them! I have quite a few more coming up, but I’m looking for the most over the top ones possible!

    Oh, and I did get a few comments about how awful these nails were. You’re welcome to disagree with anything I post, but no swearing in the comments and please no “thos nailz r so gross omg LoLZ u r disgotsing” kind of stuff. Also, no need to comment -spam every single time I post nails you don’ t like. If you don’ t like the nails, I recommend you hit the “X’ button on the top right side of the browser! Problem solved. 😉

    • Really? I can’t believe people actaully take the time to write out (rudely mind you) how much they dislike something when they can easily x right on out of the page! I think you know most of us really enjoy the japanese nail art posts, so I hope you continue to post them 🙂

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Brooke- Pfft on those trolls! Of course I will continue to post Japanese nail fabulousness! Even though I wouldn’t wear it myself (probably), I think it’s really artistic.

  12. Annie says:

    To do those argiles all you have to do is get those “nail tapes” (they are like string-thin & comes with all sorts of colors…you can get them on e-bay for approx. $2/roll & it’ll last a lifetime). draw a big diamond in the middle then follow through @ the bottom. Then lay the tape in between. 🙂

Leave a Reply

