Raspberry Chocolate Swirl

I mixed up a deep raspberry burgundy with a little bit of brown. I added 3 drops green creme to 7 drops of red creme, which made a reddish brown. I then added 5 drops of deep purple creme to the red/green mix. This gives the color a deep purple depth rather than just a straight burgundy. After making this one, I discovered that Color Club Killer Curves would probably be a good match. I didn’t swatch them side by side, but they were probably pretty close. I think my franken is a little bit more jellyish, but the Color Club is a nice vampy color that may save you some frustration.

I then used an old, old Sally Hansen Chrome polish in Ruby Chrome to do the Konad. It’s a medium fuschia foil that’s probably at least 5 years old. If you don’t have this in your stash, China Glaze Romantiques would be a good substitute and much more readily available.

I love this swirly Konad and I forgot to check the plate number, but I use it a lot. Of course I added some fuschia rhinestones too!

IMG_5589

This reminds me of Ghirardelli chocolate- the dark chocolate squares with the raspberry are the best ever. I could put away a bag of those in a single sitting. Yum! Unfortunately, these nails will be the closest I get as there is no Ghirardelli in Japan. I’m afraid that when I move back to the US, I’m going to double my body weight eating all the delicious goodies I was deprived of in Japan!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Konad, Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Raspberry Chocolate Swirl

  1. Kaybee says:

    Wow! This is super cool! I love how you use rhinestones. Your work is so very unique. I love that you’re giving the 5 year old polish some love!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Kaybee! I loved those Sally Hansen Nail Chromes, but they can be snagged in the Dolla Store on occasion.

  2. This is so, so pretty! I love it. I’ve just ordered my first konad stuff. Hope I can get the hang of it so I can give this a go!!

  3. Kae says:

    Great name, it really does remind me of raspberry chocolate!

    Your princess nails in store are really cute!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Kae! I haven’t restocked the store in a while but I’ve done a couple of custom orders.

  4. skye says:

    sooo cuteee i love this one.. Veryy nicee =p

  5. Lucy says:

    Love the base color. Makes me want some chocolate. I’m having a cup of German Chocolate coffee. That is helping my chocolate craving!

  6. Alexlyndra says:

    Oh my gosh, what an amazing manicure! I love how the colours go together and the pattern you’ve chose for Konad. Absolutely beautiful!

  7. konADDICT says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this design. I have this stamp…youve inspired me to use it just this way. Most konadicures ive seen do this have every nail “the same” as far as stamp placement goes. I find it vry interesting when full nail stamps are placed differently on each fingre….more movement. Great job!…..i just started blogging, id love for you to check mine out. Any tips advice….your a pro @ this now. If you like my very new very short but very cute blog….please spread the word!

Leave a Reply

