From The Way Back Files

Now here’s some nails from the way-back archives. They are 100% real, but my extra-long pinkie had his rivals asassinated. I kept growing them back, but eventually had to cut them to get a job. There was also the terrible Pinkie Bendback Incident of 2006 that I don’t even want to think about.

IMG_3119

IMG_3128

IMG_3016

IMG_3009

IMG_2943

Like leggings with scrunchy socks, Jamz shorts, or piercing your nose, these seemed like a good idea at the time.  My nails are thicker and in generally better shape now, but I did enjoy those crazy long ones- maybe they’ll make a reappearance in the future. I don’t think I could have changed the polish every day like I do now, though.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to From The Way Back Files

  1. Kae says:

    Wow that is a loooong pinky! How fun, do you miss them sometimes? I could never even come close to growing mine out long my nails are paper thin and brittle. Love all the bling you have in these pictures! 😀

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Kae- They were pretty fun but I couldn’t wear contact lenses, etc. My nails are pretty thick, so they just sort of naturally grew like that. But they definitely got in the way sometimes.

  2. WOw!! How did you skateboard with those? lol

    The second ones, with the gold tips – in love!! What did you use for the gold tips, do you remember?

    Imagine the amount of jewels you would go through with your nails long like that again…

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Brooke- The gold tips were glittah mixed in a clear topcoat. It was clear glitter with a strong gold flash. I would need a jewel factory to keep those babies blinged out. Skateboarding was extra exciting- Will I break a bone? Or a nail? Which would be worse? 😉

  3. Violet says:

    Omg I’m cringing at the Pinky Bend Back Incident *_* The first ones and the gold tips are my favorites. I can’t even function with my natural nails past my fingers I can’t imagine how you did anything with them!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Violet- The Pinkie incident was actually what turned me off of long natural nails for a really long time. I still can’t forget it. At least that won’t happen with my current stubbies!

  4. Lucy says:

    Pretty long pinky there girly! I don’t even want to know the pain you had with that bend back. Big ouch. The nails looks much better and healthier now. Thanks for sharing with us. Pretty manicures though.

  5. Deez says:

    wow – that is a long one. all these designs are fabulous! hat is the name of the red polish in your very last picture with the black-tips and gem stones… its looks really pretty with the flat black.

Leave a Reply

