Sugar Shock

Whew! It has been a busy week, somehow, though nothing really special is going on. I think I’ve been sleeping poorly- I was ready to take a nap this afternoon on my keyboard.

This mani may be proof that I’ve been in Japan too long- I can’t believe that I am wearing pink ice cream cones on my nails. Today I’m going to show you Lefty, who rarely gets seen and often gets cheated out of nail art because it’s hard to do my dominant hand. This mani was just some decals and a couple of plastic glitter baubles.

First, I mixed a brick red using 9 drops medium creme red and 1 drop brown. I used dolla-store creme red and brown- any will do. Just go easy on the brown, or you’ll get a dark vampy in no time. I then applied a layer of Sinful Colors UFO, which is a translucent pink with different size iridescent sparkles. Useless by itself, but great for frankens.

IMG_5512

Then out came the decals:  ice cream cones, pie, donuts and a lollipop. The other decals on the sheet were of whipped cream, sundaes, candy, and a tiny fork (?).  They should have included a tiny needle and bottle of insulin, but I guess that’s just a little too practical.

IMG_5525

IMG_5522

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sugar Shock

  1. Alexlyndra says:

    I love candies on nails, and on everything, it’s such a sweet design to wear. I really like you polish too!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Alexlyndra. Usually I don’t go for something quite this cute, but it was fun for a day!

  2. I need your nails in my mouth right now! lmao

    The little peice of pie looks really yummy though! I lick these, I lick the red with the pink and the glitter, it makes it look really good.

    lol – yes I said Lick instead of like, lol!

  3. Kae says:

    They all look pretty yummy, I’m a sucker for ice cream tho so the cone is my favorite. The slice of pie (or is that cheesecake with a cherry topping?) is super cute!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Kae, I think it’s pie with a cherry on top. I should have put the teeny tiny fork next to it!

  4. lazycakes says:

    this is too much fun!!! How long do your decals stay on? Do you top coat them every couple of days?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Lazycakes! With a topcoat (I use Seche Vite), these will stay on as long as the polish. I didn’t finish these with a topcoat because I wanted to re-use them. They are rather thick and rubbery and can be used a couple of times.

  5. Lucy says:

    How yummy and cute. Tempting not to nibble on your nails. I like the color you frankened. A tiny fork is just so funny and cute!

Leave a Reply

