Ruby Lotus

Here’s a little ruby-shaped heart ring that my grandmother got for me a while ago. It’s the inspiration for today’s manicure. I have gone short with my nails because they’re getting a little weak.   I’ve been lazy about the strenghtener, so now it’s time to go short and try to make them happy once again. Also, I think can get away with crazier colors on shorter nails.

It’s easy to make burgundy shades- just add a couple drops of black to a red polish. I used OPI Quarter of  Cent-Cherry and some dollar store black creme. Add the black to the red drop by drop until you get the shade you want. I then finished it off with a coat of Orly Love Each Other, a clear polish with some transparent pink shimmer.

IMG_5424

IMG_5430

Of course, next came the Konad! I love the lotus pattern plate M66, which has some cute Asian-style images. I used China Glaze Sunset Glow for the Konad, and it worked really well. It’s a medium pink with orange flash, and is opaque in one coat on the nail.

IMG_5466

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Konad, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ruby Lotus

  1. Violet says:

    Oh that’s really pretty! I love how subtle the lotuses are.

  2. Lucy says:

    Pretty ring. My two favorite things hearts and rubies. Love the color. The Konad is very subtle and pretty.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you Lucy! I’m also a big fan of rubies and opals- I don’t care about diamonds so much.

  3. Kae says:

    Your ring is gorgeous, great job on the konad it looks fantastic!

  4. I’m loving the lotus stamp! I don’t know if I have seen that one before. Is it a real konad stamp or fauxnad?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Brooke- good question. It’s M66, which also has cherry blossoms and some Asian-style flowers. I missed out on the whole Fauxnad thing.

Leave a Reply

