Kathmandu Blue

I had a great time with Green Week, but I’m also itching to try some other colors too. I have some stories to tell about the inspiration behind my nail colors.

I spent over a year and a half travelling through Asia and the Pacific and had a great time.  Experiences ranged from soul-searing horrible to fantastically wonderful, but I’m glad I did it while I was youngish (25)! I took thousands of photos and I’m going to be sharing some with you.  I’m saving up to do it again, but this time, I’m going to do the Trans-Siberian Railway and Eastern Europe.

The photo below is from a mask that I saw during a street festival in Kathmandu, Nepal.  One thing I loved about Nepal was the beautiful, vibrant colors on temples, clothing, decorations…everywhere.

IMG_7211

I know the original mask wasn’t sparkly, but I bet the Nepalis would appreciate some glitter. This is a layer franken: China Glaze Frostbite, a bright blue semi- metallic, followed by a layer of Sinful Colors Hottie, which is various sizes of rainbowy silver glitter in a translucent blue base, and finally topped off by the unbeatable Nfu Oh 52.

IMG_5376

IMG_5381

The Nfu Oh is awesome, but fairly sheer. The flaky polishes are wonderful, but I find the base a little sheer. I almost always layer them over a darker color so I don’t need 3 or 4 coats. I tried some of the Nfu Oh cremes, and I wasn’t terribly impressed. The colors are really unique, but they streaked like crazy on me.  I could not get a good application  at all, but maybe I need a better base coat.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kathmandu Blue

  1. Kae says:

    I think flaky glitter is my absolute favorite I’m always ogling the flaky nfu ohs maybe someday I shall get my own! Very pretty layering with the blue it’s so vibrant.

  2. Lucy says:

    Jen you really have had a fascinating time in your life. I would really enjoy seeing and reading about your experiences. I hope you get to do the trip you want. Sounds fantastic. Love the polish. Very pretty and glittery.

  3. Alexlyndra says:

    Nice one! I love flake polishes. It’s rare with blue ones, at least for me. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

