Carmen Miranda

Here’s a little gradation to whet your appetite for the gradation tutorial I’m going to do soon. It’s a red to  jelly orange gradation. Please excuse the stains and paint on my hands. Gradations are lots of fun when they come out right, but can be frustrating to get perfect!

IMG_5480

IMG_5476

I wore the gradation for a while, and then the urge to stick little fruits came on. I think it’s a result of all the Japanese nail art photos I’ve been looking at.  These tiny Fimo fruits are awesome: dragonfruit (white flesh with tiny black seeds and a pink skin), yuzu, a sort of grapefruity citrus thing, starfruit, yellow watermelon, pink watermelon, strawberry, pear, banana and lots more.

IMG_5483

Below: With flash.

IMG_5486

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Carmen Miranda

  1. Violet says:

    Ah cool! Those little fruits are awesome, I just got an order of them so I’ve been working them into every second mani. Yours look really great! I love the gradation, you’re really good at it, I can’t wait for that tutorial!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Violet- Glad you liked it! Those little fruits are so addictive! I might make some custom fimo bits myself if I can get the hang of it.

  2. Kaybee says:

    All I can picture is my hair caught in all of the little things, and I think I would mercilessly pick at them all day. What’s it like having those on? They are very pretty in their tiny details! I LOVE gradation. I wish I could find it here. Will it be available in the states outside a salon do you think?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Kaybee- They are sort of tempting to pick at. If I want to wear that manicure for more than a day, I would seal it with a topcoat. The fruits are pretty thin, so they seal easily.

      That gradation liquid is probably really, really hard to find outside of Japan, but I heard it can be ordered on amazon.com. I’m also going to try a tutorial without it but we’ll see how that goes.

  3. Deniz says:

    Yumm! Fruit salad!

  4. Alexlyndra says:

    Nice gradiation! Can’t wait to see how you do them. It’s so cute with all the fruits on your nails!

  5. Lucy says:

    How beautiful! Love the graduation. The colors are lovely. The fruits are insane!! Just adorable. I love fruit and would be tempted to nibble. You are fabulous Jen.

  6. Smoochiefrog says:

    I absolutely love the graduation! Looks great!

  7. Magnolia says:

    I love the graduation. I look forward to the tut.
    The little fimo fruits are so cute! The strawberry slice is best 🙂 I want to track some down now.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Magnolia- I got mine on Etsy, where I’m spending all my nail profits. It was $6 US for 300 pieces, which was much cheaper than in Japan.

  8. Kae says:

    Oh those fruits are yummy! I liked the graduation too but I gotta say those fruits were worth it 😀
    Really like the starfruit.

Leave a Reply

