Peridot Glitter

I think this will be the last green for a while, because I have some really fun stuff coming up to show you: RBL Bikini Bottom franken, a foil tutorial, a nail art how-to post, a gradation tutorial, and something involving fruits. I love greens and there’s not enough good ones on the market, but all good things must come to an end.

I love China Glaze’s glitter polishes in a jelly base, like Ruby Pumps and Emerald Sparkle (and Dorothy Who?, a blue glitter in blue base that looks spectacular but is extremely hard to find). Emerald City is a great green, but to me it screams out St. Patty’s Day or Christmas. It’s just one of those rich holiday sort of greens.

I wanted to make a dirtier, more olive green, but not khaki. I found some fabulous peridot colored glitter (sort of olivy-green semi-precious stone) and knew I had to make a translucent jelly base so that glitter could show through.

I used all Japan-only ingredients for this one, but here are the basic steps:

Mix a green jelly from half creme yellow, half clear polish, and add in a medium blue creme drop by drop. Add one drop of gray polish, a couple more drops of yellow as you like,  and then add your peridot green glitter. You will probably have to add more clear polish. Paint fast- this stuff dries super-fast. Also, make sure your glitter is dyed-through- that means it’s not just silver glitter sprayed with dye- rather, the glitter was cut from a sheet of material the same color as the final product. Otherwise, it will go silver as soon as it hits the clear polish. Test a little of the glitter first, or you will get dirty green with silver glitter.

IMG_5511

IMG_5502

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peridot Glitter

  1. Kaybee says:

    Ooo that’s really pretty – looks like a green starry night!!

  2. Trisha says:

    I tried making this myself and it turned out pretty good. Not as good as yours of course!! I had a question though… I have noticed that polishes I mix last a lot longer than polishes straight out of the bottle. Do you know why that is? I have one that I mixed that went two weeks with NO chips. I work with my hands all day so it was kinda odd. Thanks!! Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

