Fatigue

Please excuse the streaky polish job. I thought this one would turn out way awesomer than it really did.

I used my Fyrinnae pigment in Bastet, which looked like an awesome deep metallic blue. I added it to some clear nail polish and discovered it was actually black with some blue particles. I was hoping for a frosty deep blue, but because it had a black base, things worked out a little differently.

I added some yellow (dolla-store) anyway to see what would happen. I got a deep khaki green. If your green has any black  in it,  you will get a khaki or olive shade. It’s not always easy to tell if a blue or green has a black base. Sometimes I’m suprised- it’s not visible in the mix, but when you start adding other colors, the black becomes more obvious.

IMG_5311

To do a quick check to see if your green or blue has a black base, add a couple drops of your green to a couple drops of white.  If it yields a grayish color, there’s black in the mix.  If you just get a clean lighter green, there is none.

Khaki and “dirty” colors can be great- just be aware of what black bases will do to your franken. Avoid them if you want a clean, bright color.  If you want a khaki, you’ll be all set!

I have a couple more green polishes to show you and then we’ll be back to our usual rainbow of colors. Also: a foil tutorial, a nail art drawing tutorial, and maybe a gradation tutorial though I know gradation liquid is not widely available outside of Asia.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fatigue

  1. Lucy says:

    I love it, each green gets better! I think you could even go another week on greens. I love Khaki green. My favorite green like this was called Toad by Revlon. It was their Stree Wear polish. It was my favorite polish that I stupidely got rid of. Aalmost this color but not quite.

  2. kelliegonzo says:

    so these are falsies yes? just to clarify haha, i wasn’t sure.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I do use tips sometimes especially for nail art like my recent pirate manicure, and mention it as such. Some of my pictures are taken at different times, which is why my nails sometimes are shorter and then suddenly longer the next day. I don’t have any magic secrets for growing out nails overnight. I acutally just went pretty short, but haven’t posted any of the new pics yet. I do admit to having rather stained nails from all the dark polish!

  3. Laine says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Olive so this looks like a winner to me!

  4. Joy says:

    I’m really interested in gradient manis! Can’t wait. Do you think you might be able to franken the liquid? I’m thinking it must be some combination of acetone/water/clear nail polish.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Joy! The gradient liquid is very thin and watery- I was surprised about it too. There is no clear polish in it. It sorrt of liquifies the polish halfway, if that makes any sense.

Leave a Reply

