Cloudy NyQuil

For those of you non-Americans who may not know what Ny-Quil is, it’s a foul-tasting liquid cold medicine. It is a beautiful deep transluent slightly blue cool green. It looks almost black in the bottle, but shows its true color when held up to the light. It reminds me of potions in fairy tales, or old bottles of poisons  in silent movies. There’s something very vintage about it.

I tried to make that color as it was, in a transparent version, but it was gross on my nails. It looked like some kind of fungus. When such a dark color is sheer, it’s not a pretty look. At least not on my pale skin, anyway.

So, I added a couple more colors to my mixture and came up with the color below:

nyquil 2

Above: Artificial light, no flash. Below: natural light with flash.

nyquil 1

IMG_5390

This was  a mix of 1/5  Orly Star of Bombay with 1/45clear polish and 3/5  Japanese dollar store medium yellow. Your yellow has to be totally translucent- hold it up to the light and make sure that light can pass through it. Colors like China Glaze Golden Opportunity, OPI The It Color, etc. won’t work because they are too opaque.  If you can’t find such a translucent yellow, mix your mosst translucent yellow with half clear polish and try that.

Oh, and be careful about the actual Ny-Quil. You’ll feel like you were hit by a train the next morning- it’s the NyQuil hangover. For me, I’d rather appreciate it on my nails than in my body!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cloudy NyQuil

  1. Marsha says:

    Can the yellow be like a neon yellow or should it be a more primary yellow?

    Thanks a bunch! I read your blog every day!

  2. Marsha says:

    This looks like it might be a close workable for the Zulu franken!
    (I’m just still trying!)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Marsha! Thanks for reading! You’ll need a primary yellow, as a neon will make a brighter green like a 7-Up label, or grass.

      For the Zulu, I recommend 1/2 China Glaze Calypso and maybe 1/4 OPI Need Sunglasses and 1/4 clear polish. Mix well, then add about 10 more drops of clear and 2 drops of creme black.

  3. Lucy says:

    Another just gorgeous green. Love it!

Leave a Reply

