Shimmering Spruce

I’ve been having so much fun with Green Week that I decided to extend it a little!  I have a few more greens to show you, and then I’ll go back to our regular multi-colored frankening.

Today’s color is a shimmering cool green leaning towards blue.  I just realized it’s a rather Christmassy color, but I still enjoyed it.  The secret one in this is my beloved Color Club What a Drag, a silver foily shimmer.

This is 1/4 China Glaze Golden Opportunity  added to a half and half mix of What A Drag and OPI Dating a Royal (dark blue creme).  It reminds me of Christmas trees, hence the name.  I’ll be busting this out in December for sure.

spuce 1.

IMG_5370

After Green Week is over, I’m going shorter with my nails.  I am desperately blind without my glasses- like Velma from Scooby-Doo blind.  I’d like to start wearing my contacts again, but my current length makes it more difficult. I suppose I could just file down the contact-lens hand (right) but I like for all nails to be the same length.  They all go down together- all for one and one for all.   I also want to give them a chance to grow out- they are pretty stained from all the polish.  I change it often enough, but just a couple days of wearing darks gives me lovely darkish yellow nails.  I’ll try to stay away from the darks for a while- or just wear them for a few minutes to show a photo to you- but I have yet to find a good stain-remover.  I’ve tried whitening toothpaste and it does OK- at least as good as some of the “whitening kits” I’ve tried!

Also coming up: If I can find them, I have some of my nail photos from when I went through an outrageously long phase a couple years ago.  After a horrible nail bend-back accident so bad I don’t even want to remember  it, I went short and never looked back.   I found that keeping them shorter, buffing once a week,  and applying a strengthener was the way to go.  Also, don’t forget your cuticle oil and/or handcream regularly.  If you’re having trouble growing your nails out, try keeping them just above fingertip length and apply a strenghtener daily (I like OPI Nail Envy).  Here’s the thing that is rarely mentioned with strengtheners:  If you use it too much, your nails can get  too hard.  They become so hard that they get brittle and rigid and have little flexibility, so when you hit them on something, they don’t bend- they just get a crack.  Once your nails are fairly strong, switch to a “maintenance” formula strenghtener or just apply it once a week or so.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Shimmering Spruce

  1. Lucy says:

    Hi Jen! I’m so loving green week. I’m glad you have a few more. This green looked like something I used to wear around Christmas. It’s so pretty. Ouch, I had long nails awhile ago and I broke mine with all the blood and drama. They weren’t even major long. I’m the same as you with having my nails the same length. I hate it when I see women with a long and short nail. Drives me nuts. I’d like to see your long nail pictures.

  2. Deez says:

    Love this!

    This is definitely unique ~

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Deez! I’m imagining it with some silver snowflakes for Christmas..it will reappear in winter for sure!

  3. Alexlyndra says:

    Beautiful! It doesn’t look no way near a franken, it’s great!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Alexlyndra! Color Club What A Drag (the silver foil) is one of my great franken-weapons- it makes a really great franken even when mixed with only one other color.

  4. Francine says:

    Wow, that is totally beautiful!

    How do you shape the bottom (or cuticle area) in your manicures?

    It looks – well – perfect all the time! And creates that stylish, slightly square-like shape.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Francine! Thanks for your comment. I naturally have almost no cuticle and it gives me the heebie jeebies when people push them back. I try to keep my cuticles pretty moisturized (polish loves to stick to dry cuticles!) When I wear really dark colors, I use a tiny paintbrush to apply handcream, Vaeline, etc. or thick oil (like Vitamin E oil) around my cuticles just before I paint my nails. I get as close to the nail edge as possible- but not on the nail. I then paint my nails and wipe off any smudges with a Q-tip. Bonus: moisturized cuticles! If there are still any smudges, I use an acetone-soaked Q-tip,but I try to stay away from that stuff as much as possible.

      It sounds like a lot of work to apply the oil/cream but it saves a lot of clean-up time and takes care of your cuticles too!

  5. Kaybee says:

    I love this color! This looks like one Scrangie just wrote about called Blackboard from Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics. Really pretty and unusual. Thanks for your writing about nail care and strengthening products too. You know, when I was a kid I thought everyone could have the nice nails my sister had, that I was just a loser! Turns out we all have different types of nails and caring for them makes them all look very nice, no matter the shape or natural strength. I was a nail biter and cuticle picker from waaay back. Nail blogs helped me know what to do!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Kaybee! Nails do take a lot of work in the beginning, but if you’re good to them, they’ll be good to you. 🙂 It seems that nails can be too strong- I didn’t know that until after I’d overdosed on strenghtener. Who knew this stuff before the Internet?

  6. Francine says:

    Hi! Thanks for your answer. I have been sporting that cuticle oil trick for a long time – but for some reason it does not do similar wonders for me. I guess that I might need just practice to get as beautiful results as you do!

    Your Cloudy NyQuil is exceptionally beautiful, too!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Francine, try Vaseline or handcream. It’s easier to control. I’m glad you liked the greens! 🙂

Leave a Reply

