Warty Pickle

This is going to be a love it or hate it one. It’s a deep forest green matte.  There is not a hint of shine in this at all- it is absolutely matte.

I got the matte by adding rice powder to my franken. I guess loose, color-free mattifying powder that people use on their face would work too. Japanese ladies have used rice powder to keep their faces oil-free. It’s superfine and has no color.  Unfortunately, it made some fine bumps in the polish, hence the name “Warty Pickle.” I think if I ground the rice powder up or used a better quality brand, I might get a smoother result.

I used medium yellow pigment from a Japanese theatrical makeup company(bright lemon color) and dropped it into OPI Dating A Royal, a deep blue creme. I had to add some clear polish because the pigment thickened the mix up. I then added the rice powder and mixed. This was opaque in one coat.

IMG_5362

IMG_5365

I’m not sure how I feel about mattes. They can be very hard to wear and require very well-groomed nails, otherwise it just looks like messy polish gone bad. It’s an interesting effect, but I don’t think I’d wear it every day.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Warty Pickle

  1. Tuli says:

    That turned out so beautiful ! And opaque in one coat….wow….great job 🙂 I love it

  2. chupa says:

    Hi! just to tell you that I talk about your blog on my blog.
    If there’s ay problem with that just tell me!

    xoxo

  3. Lucy says:

    Jen you hit this right on the nose. Warty pickle! I love it. I really do love the color. It’s a beautiful shade of forest green. I do love the matte. The warts I can do without. It would make a nice manicure for Halloween. You gave me a good laugh though!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Lucy- For Halloween, I’ll call it Witch Skin! I’m hoping I can find a good matte powder to elimate the bumps.

  4. Kristine says:

    Love it! To bad the rice powder made it bumpy, ut I love the green matt. Do you thing tcum would work as “mattyfier” ?

    🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Kristine- I think that talcum would cause the polish to clump too much. I think it would provide a more “satin” half-matte finish, rather than the pure matte. You need a really starchy powder rather than a silky one.

  5. Deez says:

    Nice! What a lovely deep green, 1 coat……….

  6. Kaybee says:

    I kind of like it! Do the warts feels bumpy though? That would be annoying. I like the color. What does it look like if you put the top coat on? Thanks for checking out and commenting on my nfu oh 51! It’s funny because my boyfriend told me to put a piece of paper down and I wouldn’t do it. lol! But now I will. He gave me such an “I told you so face” but didn’t say it!!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Kaybee- It was fun to look at your blog. Try the paper or cardboard with as much light as possible. If your camera has a closeup setting (usually it’s shown as a little flower symbol), try that. Good luck and I look forward to seeing more!

  7. Angie says:

    I like the “wartiness” of this franken – makes it all the more fun to look at!

  8. Alexlyndra says:

    I love mattes, and I think you did a good job with this!

  9. Laine says:

    I was thinking about this polish yesterday. I realize I already commented and said I loved it but I really have to say it again. This one really stuck in my memory. It’s very unique. I am totally on board with the matte trend right now, and I LOVE green and the little bumps are super cool!!! I know they were an accident, but they are a great accident. I think it’s what really puts it over the edge for me. This one is just too great!

  10. Mariko says:

    lovely green! and the matte effect looks cool on you~

  11. Zippy says:

    Nice!! I love this color- I’m tempted to make a franken of this for myself!

Leave a Reply

