Lagoon Green

 This is a deep greenish teal with a lot of shimmer. It reminds me of a deep, quiet lagoon.  It’s made from only two colors: China Glaze Turned Up Turquoise and China Glaze Gussied Up Green. By the way, GuG is a very nice color- deep green but it can look black in low light.

I had the TuT and liked the color, just not on me. It’s a neon with a slight shimmer and dries fairly matte.  But when mixed in a ratio of 1/3 GuG to 2/3 TuT, I got this deep teal color which is noticeably green in all lights but is still a strong color.

IMG_5288

Left: Turned Up Turquoise. Right: Gussied Up Green.

IMG_5282

But it seemed a little lonely, so of course out came the Konad and jewels! I used China Glaze Cherish from the Romantiques collection, which is a minty green metallic. I think the Konad plate was M74 but I’m not sure. I stuck some pretty large glass rhinestones on the bottom half of three nails.

IMG_5300

 IMG_5293

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Konad, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lagoon Green

  1. Susan says:

    Silly question maybe, but how are you getting polishes from their original bottles to your franken-mixing palette? Are you letting it drip from the brush, or pouring, or… what?

    Thanks!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Susan! Not a silly question at all. I pour if I want a larger quantity and I let it drip off the brush too for more precise colors. I use a mini- silicone muffin tin to hold the mixed polish. It cleans easily (the polish peels right off) and it’s flexible so I can pour the franken polish into a bottle if I want. But I usually only make enough polish for one manicure.

      • Violet says:

        Oh wow the silicon muffin tray is a genius idea! This manicure is beautiful. I love green week especially with a konad stamp and bling!

  2. Elisa says:

    Thank you for your help yesterday! 🙂 and wow today’s green works so well with the Cherish nail polish! gorgeous! :]

  3. Angie says:

    Pretty! That reminds me of elves and Lord of the Rings somehow. 😀

  4. Deniz says:

    I love it! Yay, I have both of the colors this time =) And I love that any CHG polish from the Romantique collection can be used for Konading, they’re even better than the Konad special polishes =)

  5. Alexlyndra says:

    Nice franken! The Konad and the rhinestones made it look even better!

  6. Kristine says:

    Really nice green! Green is my favourite and I am in heaven 😀

  7. thiamere says:

    you’re really a diva!
    that’s such a nice color!

    ^_^

  8. Lucy says:

    I am loving green week! I’m behind in reading all the blogs. I started playing computer games again! I haven’t played anything for months. Pretty color you came up with. I love the Konading. To me the manicure would look beautiful at Christmas. It looks like very pretty wrapping paper. Just lovely.

Leave a Reply

