Leafy Green

This is a rich medium green creme with a tiny bit of shimmer in it. It’s the color I imagine when I think of “green vegetables.”  It’s somewhere between green bell pepper and baby leaf lettuce. I think seeing the “Pelican Lettuce” in my kitchen inspired this one.

IMG_5115

This is made of 1/3 Misa Happy Happy, a bright creme yellow, 1/3Orly Blue Collar, a turquoise creme that I highly recommend for frankens and 1/3 China Glaze Celtic Sun, a translucent neon yellow that reminds me of highlighter ink.  I added a couple drops of Color Club Oui! Oui, a shimmery white micropearl to lighten the color a tiny bit.

IMG_5108

Greens are made of yellow and blue. The trick is to find strong yellows. It’s easy for the yellow to get lost in the blue, since it’s a light color.  When frankening greens, add the blue bit by bit to the yellow. If you add the yellow to the blue, you are going to need a whole lot to change the blue color to green.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Leafy Green

  1. Lucy says:

    Love this color green. I’m crazy about greens lately. I have so many different shades of green.

  2. Elisa says:

    WOW! I am absolutely in LOVE with green week! All of them are so gorgeous! Today is definitely no exception! It’s absolutely gorgeous! 🙂

    Hi, I know you are busy with green week but I have a small question if you don’t mind. I have an event next week and I think OPI You Don’t Know Jacques! and Chanel Haute Chocolate would go really well with my ensemble. Is it possible to recreate these vampy colors with just basic nail polish colors? Thank you 😀

  3. Alexlyndra says:

    Great looking green! I’m saving all the information you’re giving us in my brain about how to franken. Soon I’ll get my first empty bottle, then it’s time for me to create my first franken! Oh, I have to ask you – since I only ordered ONE bottle, if I don’t like the franken I make (I know that I should not make a full bottle) is there a way you can clean the bottle without messing up the brush?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Alexlyndra! Let me give you a couple of franken tips! I recommend that you get a silicone muffin cup to mix frankens- like the kind people use for baking muffins or cupcakes. They are flexible and easy to clean. Firlst, pour your polishes into that and mix with a brush. If you like the color, you can pour the franken into the bottle easily. If you don’t like the color, you can start again.

      You can clean any bottle by pouring nail polish thinner into it. I wipe off my brush with a clean cloth or paper towel and rinse it in polish thinner. Then pour the thinner into the bottle, wait a few minutes, and then pour the polish/thinner mix into a paper towel and throw away.

      Also, try mixing a franken with colors you like. It is more likely to make a nice franken. Try the challenging ugly colors after you get more experience!

  4. Sandra says:

    Great tip! I’ll remember that when I’ll make a green franken 🙂 and that was a great color too!

Leave a Reply

