Celery/Moonpool in Disguise

Today’s color is celery green. It was a little streaky for some reason, but I liked the color. It was really simple- 2/3 OPI Lemonade Stand By Your Man, a shimmery medium yellow, and 1/3 China Glaze Blue Island Ice Tea.  I added a couple drops of white to it to lighten it at the end, since I wanted a sort of celery green, but I think that’s what caused the streakiness. Usually my different brands play well together, but I get some uneven application here. I still like the color, but I think I’d skip the creme white at the end next time, or add a silver to lighten things up rather than the white.

In the back of my mind was China Glaze Moonpool.  I never did get it, and I wanted it after I saw some swatches online.  I think I was subconciously trying to recreate it here! I hardly ever lighten polishes by adding creme white at the end because it often turns a color bad, but I guess I was determined to make Moonpool. I may just get it over with and do an actual Moonpool franken, just to get it out of the way!

img_3089

untitled 1

Also coming up: some green on green Konad, a few juicy dark shades, and something intriguing- inspired by Ny-Quil. Stay tuned!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Celery/Moonpool in Disguise

  1. Lucy says:

    That is a pretty shade Jen. I wanted Moonpool also but no luck.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Lucy- It’s not too hard to make Moonpool-like shades. Every once in a while I get a craving for a nuclear chemical green color. Glad you liked it.

  2. amber says:

    very pretty shade!

  3. Alexlyndra says:

    You made yourself a duochrome there! Or at least it looks like it on my screen. I honestly love this colour, absolutely my kind of green!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Alexlyndra- It is sort of duo-chromey. I also love these nuclear waste greens. I hear Zoya has a color called Midori (means “green” in Japanese) that is similar to this. But you can franken it too!

  4. Does look very moonpool-ish. A very nice spring green, very pretty!

Leave a Reply

