Alligator Khaki

Here’s a dirty khaki green with golden sparkle for Green Week.  This was very simple to make- 2/3 China Glaze Calypso, a navy blue creme, and 1/3 Orly Golden Halo, a yellowish translucent white with tons of gold shimmer. I then added a little bit (about 5 drops) of OPI Lemonade Stand By Your Man, a medium yellow shimmer, to make it a little bit more green.  Try mixing in a white iridescent like Golden Halo, OPI Fireflies, etc. with a dark creme to make a new and unexpected color. You can also layer lighter colors on top of dark, but the Orly Golden Halo was too opaque to layer well- it had to be mixed in with the navy creme.

img_1885

img_1894

For some reason, this one reminds me of reptiles.  I know alligators and crocodiles are not shimmery, but something about the color brings them to mind. I’d much rather wear something “croc-like” as nail polish than as a handbag or shoes. 

Actually, this is not at all related to nails, but I used to work with a girl who had a real python handbag. It cost a fortune, and she was very proud of it. I nicknamed it Fang, but somehow I don’t think she appreciated it.  Until that point, I don’t think she actually connected her bag to a living animal that died so she could carry it around.  I’m kind to animals, so I guess I’ll just stick to wearing them on my nails then.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Alligator Khaki

  1. Alexlyndra says:

    Lovely franken!
    I think I would’ve acted the same way you did to your colleague. 😛

  2. Jennifer says:

    Ha! Funny name, fang! I lurve animals, though not particularly partial to snakes.

  3. Lucy says:

    Love this color. I think I have a polish like this. You do such an amazing job with your franken. I’ve never seen a bad color. Have you made any bad colors?

  4. Love this color girl!! I think this one is awesome!

  5. Atomica says:

    That colour is so gorgeous, and so are your nails!

    While I’m not a fan of snakes, I think it’s just awful the way they’re killed to make bags or shoes. Saw somewhere how they actually hammer a nail into its tail to secure the snake to a plank of wood (or a tree) and then rip their skin off so it stays in one undamaged piece! That is seriously messed up. Whether or not it’s true, I just avoid snakeskin anything. And slowly I’m weening myself off of buying leather purses because hey, cows are animals, too.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Atomica! By the way, I took a look at your blog. Very interesting. Japan is still 50 years behind America in recognizing that women are people- I could tell you a few ridiculous stories (like where the real estate agent insisted on my guy signing our apartment lease, despite the fact that he cannot read Japanese and I had been doing all the negotiations.)

Leave a Reply

