Surrender the Booty!

Gaarrrr! Here are some pirate nails. Basically I wanted to cover my nails in jewels, and pirates came to mind. These are painted tips, not my real nails. I’m practicing to make good stuff for my store, but it takes a lot of work to get really good!

The right hand has Blackbeard the Pirate on the thumb, and a treasure chest on the index finger. The treasure chest was a bit wonky- it was hard to get the perspective right. But wait!!!! The middle, ring and pinky fingers are covered in jewels, pearls and little bullion baubles. These are the pirate booty cave nails. The middle finger one has a tiny skull in the corner.

IMG_5068

IMG_5073

IMG_5069

On my left hand, there’s the ocean with a shark floating, waiting for someone to walk the plank. I used Krakle polish for the blue water. The index finger is some pirate stripes, the middle finger is a jug of rum, and the ring finger is a skull. Finally, I made the pinky a treasure nail with jewels. I didn’t want my left hand to get jealous of my right hand.

IMG_5081

IMG_5078

Some other pictures:

IMG_5083

Gar! Me pirate goblet!

IMG_5092

IMG_5103

IMG_5099

I hope you like this one! It was a lot of fun to make. Not the most durable manicure- I was losing the little silver baubles- but it was a real-show stopper!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Surrender the Booty!

  1. Tameeka Time says:

    I love this!! so original! the pirate face is sooo original…love your blog btw

  2. Atomica says:

    Wow, the pirate looks awesome! Never seen anything like it before. Great job!

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Atomica!

  4. Alexlyndra says:

    I love pirates and everything that comes with it. You did a very good job! Especially with all the diamonds and Blackbeard!

  5. Alexlyndra says:

    Oh, I forgot! The skulls look great too!

  6. Kristine says:

    Wow! Really cool πŸ˜€ We have our national day tomorrow, so I am doing my flag tonight πŸ™‚

    Love the gems and the pirate and every nail πŸ˜€

  7. Sandra says:

    Yarr matey! Great nails! πŸ˜€

  8. deniz says:

    omg o_O just yesterday, i was thinking about suggesting you a treasure chest theme, something abou ali baba and the forty thieves, or pirates… This was really weird πŸ™‚ maybe we were in the same length… Just GORGEOUS. Now I lookat my Konad stamped nails and think they’re so boring :)))

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Deniz- maybe we have ESP! I bet your nails look great- this pirate manicure was definitely not an every day thing for me. πŸ™‚

  9. deniz says:

    *I meant “we were in the same wavelength” πŸ™‚

  10. Lucy says:

    Jen this is an amazing manicure. The pirate face is excellent. All the painting you’ve done and the jeweled nails are fantastic. Amazing art work. You should mount them and frame it like a work of art. I would love it.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! Glad you liked it. I was thinking of making a charm bracelet out of them, or maybe encasing them in plastic resin and making a really weird necklace or keychain.

  11. Yaya says:

    i think this is such an awesome idea! love the whole theme and that each nail was so different and unique

  12. I’m sooooo late on this one, but I LOOOOOOOVE it! Got to be one of my faves! So cute, blingy, creative, original, OTT – what could be better??

  13. Lisa says:

    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    How on earth did you drawn that chest? Tutorial? Please pretty please with sugar. I love the jewels!!!!!!!!! The whole look was breath taking. I wish you all the luck with your store.

    Lisa

  14. nivipa says:

    These are the most darling nails I have *ever* seen! I can see that the Japanese nail art is starting to have a bit on an influence over you πŸ˜‰ I totally find these a lot more “wearable,” though, if that makes sense!

Leave a Reply

