Kira Kira Glitterbomb

When the Japanese do glitter, they go big- they are serious believers in shiny stuff.  Usually, I don’t do chunky glitter, but there was  a bottle of polish in the dollar store that was absoultely a party in a bottle. It was probably the sparkliest thing I’d seen in a while. It had clear iridescent shimmer, glitter, chunky glitter, confetti and foil bits in a transparent base.

The polish said “Kira Kira” which is Japanese for “bling bling,” or, more accurately, “sparkle sparkle.” For some odd reason, the bottle was opaque.  I layered it over a lavender I made that I wasn’t crazy about. The glitter was all iridescent rainbow, so it needed to be layered over a darker color. Basically this was a glitterbomb of epic sparkle proportion with a little bit of polish in to hold it together.

Put your sunglasses on for this one!

IMG_5065

The downside was that this chipped like crazy and took forever to dry. It was really thick and felt like melted gummy bears on my nails several hours after it was applied. But dang, I can’t beat that sparkle for a buck!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kira Kira Glitterbomb

  1. Nikki says:

    LOL! …..cool, I am sooooo into my glitter top coats at the moment, they completely change what you are wearing on your nails don’t they?

  2. Love it! I hope I can stumble on something so blingy!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      You can make your own too- glitter, shimmer, and confetti + clear top coat. Some glitter/confetti will turn silver when mixed with topcoat so test it out first.

  3. for a buck!!! that’s def. kira! kira! I bet this is much more glittery in real life. Loves it

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It’s blinding- I betcha I could bring down a helicopter if I flashed my nails in the sun! 😉

  4. Alexlyndra says:

    Sad about the dry-up time, but damn it’s awesome this glitter! How is it to remove?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Alexlyndra- it never actually dried all the way down and it was so chunky I didn’t put Seche or other topcoat on it because I thought it would shrink the glitter polish- this one is guaranteed tip pull. So it came off pretty easily.

  5. Violet says:

    Ah you blinded me! Kira Kira indeed!

  6. Lucy says:

    Gorgeous glitter. Can you thin the polish out? What a shame, all that glittery goodness and it won’t dry.

Leave a Reply

