Morning Dew

I saw a spiderweb with a few perfect drops of dew on it, reflected against a gray sky.  Try as I might, I couldn’t get a picture of it, but I tried to get the color of the dew drops on my nails.

I  mixed this color with a light blue shimmer (OPI Maliblue)  and some of the pigment I bought from Fyrinnae in Winter, Again, a pale white with blue flash.  Pigment can be mixed with a clear nail polish, but I find that it can be streaky if it’s not mixed very well.  If possible, don’t mix pigments with a quick-dry polish until you’ve gotten the hang of it.  Glitter and pigment tend to make polish dry faster, as there’s less polish in the mix that you’re applying, so the coat is thinner and dries fast.

img_3267

img_3266

In this close-up. you can see a little unevenness in the finish but it’s not visible on the nails in normal situations.  I noticed it’s been a while since I’ve busted out the Konad on my blog, so here it is.  I used the Konad Princess polish in blue for this one.

img_3271

Oh, and the next Color Week will be Green! It won over Darks/Vampies by just a few votes.

Also, I have a new avatar! It’s two goats with pink and purple polish on their hooves.  My guy made it for me! A little hard to see, but it’s a fun design.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Konad, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Morning Dew

  1. Linda says:

    Looking forward to the green-week. It’s my favorite color!

  2. nivipa says:

    I – freaking – love – this – color!!!!!!

  3. Alexlyndra says:

    This one’s beautiful! I can’t wait to start making my own frankens now. I’m looking forward to your green week!

  4. Lucy says:

    Jen that is such a pretty color. You’ve captured it perfectly. Like the Konad design also.

  5. Ok, so I have to know, why goats?? Is there a special meaning in choosing goats?

    I love to hear how you get inspiration for the your franken colors, I think it really makes them more interesting than just mixing up a color to mix one up, although those are fun too.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Brooke- My guy loves goats, and we had a goat incident at my parent’s house. Our neighbors had little tiny pygmy goats, not much bigger than dogs, and the goats sneaked into my parent’s garage and were sitting down, eating magazines happily. I saw them and tried to herd them back to their house, but they didn’t want to go. I said, “Let’s go, goats!” and it was like the magic word- they just got off and hoofed back to their house. They just have a lot of personality and they’re stubborn. I can identify with that.

      I’ll be sure to tell the stories behind my frankens if there is one- I thought it might be boring!

Leave a Reply

