A Gentle Reminder

I enjoy blogging a lot, and I love my readers. However, there is increasingly something I don’t love- people stealing my images!

Feel free to pass images around and be inspired by them- that’s why I blog.  But these are not yours to use commercially, or without crediting the source!

I’m not sure if you guys have noticed, but I don’t watermark my images because I think it’s distracting and unattractive. However, if people continue to hotlink my photos, I will either be forced to show only teeny photos, or watermark them, or both.

The main culprits appear to be people posting my images in message boards and not crediting the photo. Or, worse, they hotlink it.  The MUA crew is very good about not stealing photos and linking properly, but I’ve seen a lot of forums where this is not the case. Heaven knows there are even more forums doing this that I can’t view because they’re locked.  Please save the photo on your hard drive, and then post it from there.  Or just add the link to the post. Like it or hate it, just don’t hotlink it.

Also: If you’re going to get a manicure at your local salon using one of my designs, consider checking out my webstore on Etsy www.nevertoomuchglitter.etsy.com or at least by leaving a comment and a photo of your Nevertoomuchglitter inspired mani!

If you have any questions about use of pictures, please feel free to contact me.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Gentle Reminder

  1. Amber says:

    Oh, I am so sorry that this is happening! How frustrating!! Is there some sort of way that you can make it so pictures from your blog can’t be “lifted”? I know that Scrangie was having issues when people on e-bay stealing her photos – they even cropped her name out of the photo!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Amber! It seems that a lot of message boards and forums are linking, but I can’t get in to confirm it because they’re locked. I have seen a lot of instances where my pics are ripped off. Mine photos don’t show commercial polishes, so they usually aren’t stolen as much, but it’s frustrating. If they just asked, I wouldn’t mind so much!

  3. Amber says:

    I completely understand. It would upset me too!

Leave a Reply

