Black Gold

Well, I’ve started my web shop on Etsy! I’m at www.nevertoomuchglitter.etsy.com

I’m still really new to it and I have only one product up- a set of solid color vampies. I’m going to add some more products this evening after I get out of work! If it works out, I may also set up my very own web shop and sell directly. But for now, I’ll give Etsy a try.  

I’m selling only press-on full cover nails at the moment- I used them for today’s franken! As you can see, they’re very natural looking. These are the exact same nails that you can buy at the delighful Nevertoomuchglitter store on Etsy. There’s now a link on the sidebar to my store. (OK, pitch over! I promised I wouldn’t make this blog commerical, and I’m not going to.)

Here’s an easy layer franken for today. First, I applied a black creme- any one is fine! Then, for the topcoat, I mixed half gold shimmer (dollar store, in my case) and half clear polish to get an antiquey-looking manicure. It’s a little streaky, but I wanted the black to show through under the gold, so I couldn’t do another coat of the gold.

img_3187

img_3188

This reminds me of forgotten gardens, overgrown with weeds- sort of a dreamy vintage color.

The tips are thin and slightly wider than my natural nails, and you can see they’re pretty short. I prefer the natural look rather than the long claws, but I know the over-the-top nails that look like Fritos are very popular as well.  I’ll try to make some of those for the sake of variety, but I don’t like wearing them very much, so I tend to overlook them when I’m designing for other people.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Black Gold

  1. Alexlyndra says:

    Beautiful polish! I just checked out your Etsy page and I just love your Fiery Depth! It’s amazing!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Alexlyndra- I might feature it on my blog, but it does require some Nfu Oh, so I know it might be hard to make. Thanks for checking out my store! 🙂

  3. Kae says:

    I liked your springtime flowers design, looking good so far good luck with your store! Do you wear the double sided nail stickers?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Kae,
      I’ve tried the double sided stickers, but I wash my hands a lot so they tend to sort of gum up. If I want them to really stay on, I use regular Crazy-glue type nail glue. I usually go natural and that’s what’s on my blog, but when I break a nail and I don’t want to cut the rest, I’ve been know to do a patch job with tips. I hate it when one breaks!

  4. Lucy says:

    Very pretty color. I will check out your store. I doubt I will buy nails though. I would really love to buy a color that you franken. That would be fantastic! Good luck with your store and I hope you sell scads of nails.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! I’m hoping to sell franken-polish eventually, but it’s actually illegal to send by air in Japan as it’s considered hazardous. I have gotten away with it a couple times before, but I was warned about it. If people wouldn’t mind waiting a month for sea mail, I’d do it, but I know it’s hard to wait that long. So for now, just nail tips but I’m looking to expand my vast nail goods empire later ;).

  5. congrats on the store!! I will so a post about it soon gf!! GOOD LUCK 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Brooke! Wednesday is a holiday here in Japan, so I’m going to do a lot of creating in my nail cave. Mwa ha ha.
      By the way, in exchange for the free advertising, do you want a Dinky themed set? 😉 I’ll do them in either the short tips or the really long like 1″ ones if you prefer. I could probably do more art with the long ones, but it’s up to you.

Leave a Reply

